A Step Back #2 - Black Swallowtail in the FoliagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Good afternoon!


I wanted to share today a picture that I had made with my family over many months. This was about a year ago; I had taken a public class with my mother and father of oil pastels. It was a large collaboration picture!

20170726_121327.jpg

Pastels being something that I had not had much experience with, it took a bit of time to get used to them. The general technique is to lay out the basic details, seal the paper, and then go again. Sealant is used because over time the pastels build up a layer on the paper and eventually you would not be able to continue without significant smudging. Sealing turns it back into a nice canvas to work on!

20170726_121246.jpg

20170726_121255.jpg

20170727_132245.jpg

Unfortunately this was way before I joined Steemit, and such, I did not get any WIP pictures of this. However doing pastels in the future I will for sure!


The picture is based on this, taken in the backyard:
butterfly1.png

Mom raises butterflies, both swallowtails and monarchs. I will do a different post on that! The #33 is to represent that that swallowtail was the 33rd raised and let go last year.


Thank you for reading! If desired I can go into detail more on pastel techniques!

Have a fantastic day everyone!

thank you!.gif
cooltext251634093601205.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by linebacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34