You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Art and Who Defines It?

in #art6 years ago

First of all, thank you for the feature you amazing woman you! <3

Secondly--I love these answers and I’m so glad the post got you thinking. I’ll admit I posed the question to myself last night and then stayed up until 3am writing because I was having so much fun thinking about it.

I think, like you, my definition of “art” has changed--or maybe I’ve just unlearned some of the prejudices I attached to art because of how things are messaged or valued in the world (i.e. as a child I would think that real art was what was found at the Met Museum, not necessarily in a community setting). Now, my definition is much broader--and richer! I see art as a conduit for social change, and see the ability of a piece to reach its audience authentically as a critical component of “greatness” (per your point in #3).

I also cannot agree enough with your statement that art is the universal language. Yes. When something creates a common, shared experience or reaction amongst an audience it automatically incites a feeling of kinship and connection. Art is a wonderful bridge to bring people together!

I could literally go on and on. :) But I won’t...just appreciate you and the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15