You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Art and Who Defines It?

in #art7 years ago

I cannot get over the following statement:

Being creative is a subversive act.

As a theatre-maker a lot of my work has been in Theatre of the Oppressed technique (which is often described as a rehearsal for the revolution). It was developed in Brazil when there was an oppressive political regime that stifled artists because they knew that creative thought was dangerous! Your comments above really resonate with me, as I’m thinking along these lines a lot!

And I love your definition of great art as the act of BEING ONESELF. I think that to truly be your own self, and express it openly without self-judgement, is a great gift! I could really go on and on here, but I love what you’ve shared and am so appreciative that you took the time to leave such a thoughtful comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37