Meet Cant

in #art8 years ago

Hi, my name is Lillian and I'm an art student at the Savannah College of Art and Design. My major is Sequential Art, but I do all kinds of art. With my degree I would love to become a teacher and help the next batch of upcoming artists reach their goals. The artist @fairytalelife was a teacher of mine, and she recommended I join the site.

When I draw I start with a very basic under structure in yellow. I choose yellow because it’s a very light color and can be drawn on top of with darker colors. You could really do this layer in any light color. The lines across the face divide the proportions and keep me from making basic anatomical mistakes.

Next I do a somewhat tight layer of line art in red. You could use green or blue for this step too, anything that stands apart from the yellow that you can see really well.

Then I do the line art in black or dark brown, because this is the final line art and it needs to stand out when you color the piece.

You can then fill in the entire piece with a unifying under color with a brush tool or the paint bucket.

This character's name is Cant and he is a young Indian boy with vitiligo, a genetic skin condition causes the loss of pigmentation (dark coloring/ skin tan) in areas of your skin that are exposed to sunlight. It’s a condition that can be common in hot areas such as India.

I add more definition to the light patches of skin, the eyes, and some shading to counter balance the brightness of his vitiligo.

The last thing I do to his skin is highlights.

And finally I focus on his hair to complete the picture, I use dark browns and black for the majority of it, and cool low opacity greys for the light highlights.

So here he is – I’ll show more of my plans for him in upcoming posts.

Sort:  

Nice drawing. Would you like to show us more of your works?

I would! I have to compose some more posts, but I would love to share my art.

Hello, Lillian! You're so talented! I like your picture. Maybe, one day I can do the same with the help of your posts! Welcome! :)

Ah! Thank you for liking it, is there anything you would like to learn? maybe I can help!

To find your own style you have to forget all they taught you in the College of Art and Design.

That couldn't be farther from the truth, a good art school like SCAD encourages students to find their own style while learning ways to make it better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40