Downtown LA Street Art and Mariachis

in #art6 years ago

IMG_3604.jpg
In the 80's the LA scene was glam and hard rock, Now the scene is Street Art

To me, US pop culture starts on the east and west coast, moves throughout the whole country and then spreads across the planet. Living in LA you see some many subcultures of art and pop. All of LA is thriving in a new breed of art which I believe started here and has spread across the whole planet. Street Art. I won't get into a discussion here about that, I just want to show some of the art in downtown LA (more specifically the Arts District and Mariachi Plaza).

IMG_3550.jpg

Outside Angel City Brewery there's a wall covered in all sorts of street art. But on the sidewalk there's art too! This spatter on the ground looks like a sumo wrestler coming out of it.

IMG_3606-2.jpg
seen those angle wings?

You know those wings painted on the sides of buildings; sometimes you see chicks getting their picture made for instagram? I pretty sure that idea originated by this artist in LA. Now I've seen similar angel wings in Europe and Latin America.

IMG_3850.jpg

It's not always a chick posing by the angel wings...

IMG_3620.jpg

Further in my journey of downtown LA I see a guy with a camera having fun with some LA girls. I'm often found doing the same thing...

IMG_3546.jpg
LA street art...I like the drippy art. I've seen this technique all around the world as well.

IMG_3520.jpg

Wheatpaste street art...Banksy, Shepard Fairy and 2wenty come to mind. Artist running around the city tagging walls with their art...I love it.

IMLO9338.jpg

Not far from the Arts District downtown LA you will find Marichi Plaza. A place to come for food, latin culture, dance and mariachi music.

A mariachi noodles on his guitar waiting for someone to sing to

IMG_3652.jpg

The mariachis all hangout in this corner of the plaza, chowing on Mexican food and talking shit.

IMG_3656.jpg

One of the cooler murals I have seen of Guadeloupe with guitars and music flying out of the scene.

IMG_3667-2.jpg

This mariachi graffiti is a little rough around the edges. But, who I am to criticize... Art is in the eye of the beholder

IMG_3693-2.jpg

All that street art has me hungry for some food!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos. I will follow you ;)

Why thank you amazing place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73