"Two Suns in the Sunset" (art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Made with Flame Painter in 4K (3840 x 2160). Wish I could remember the brushes I used! I'm going to need to write these down while I'm making the painting, as memory doesn't work so well thanks to these concussions I'm recovering from. (I painted this last night.)

The title refers to a Pink Floyd song, the last song on their last album with Roger Waters, "The Final Cut"; the song's title, "Two Suns in the Sunset", refers to the gigantic nuclear furnace in the sky (okay, have to play that song, below the painting :) ), plus a smaller nuclear furnace much closer to our ground (i.e., a nuclear explosion).

"They" got a whole lot of mileage from scaring us that nuclear weapons are real. I've worked in a nuclear power plant, and know that radiation can heat water up. I'm not certain that it can explode. I shared this with my therapist a few weeks ago and he asked, "Why?", and I responded, "Well, for one, there hasn't been much proliferation in seventy years." He immediately agreed.

He had been on the cleanup crew for John McCain's "wet start", so he knows a thing or two about military weaponry. I thought it was neat that he so readily agreed.

Furthermore, psychopaths use all tools at their disposal. If nuclear explosions really were a tool at the psychopaths' disposal, I'm certain that more than two would have been used during wartime.

Two Suns in the Sunset+c.png

And the TMBG song I alluded to above, "Why Does the Sun Shine? (The Sun is a Mass of Incandescent Gas)":




Sort:  

waw its wonderfull!

Once one bomb is dropped, how many more will follow that? Might just be a chain reaction to end most of humanity!!

Well, "two" were dropped, and none followed... I think it was just large explosives, which I many many years later in life learned, can create the signature "mushroom clouds" which everyone thinks mean a nuclear explosion happened.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mushroom_cloud

Wow u are awesome. It felt like i was watching a magic. Beautiful design.

Amazing post thank you for sharing

Nibiru! Lol! Nice one!

Haha! Great interpretation! That's one of the things I love about this program, most of the things I create are abstract and the viewer brings their own experience into the art.

amazing painting art.

Hay the song is good and the hd photo that you had present here is look nice and your thoughts to represent fire of nuclear reactor add story to that .

Nice differentiation of the two suns in the painitng and great video by They Might Be Giants. The nuclear threat was often over exaggerated because it was a bonaza for the military industrial compex. Did you ever see Dr. Strangelove? The full title is Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. Supposedly Kubrick worked with the CIA on various projects.

Yes! I re-watched Dr. Strangelove this past summer, and was amazed by some of the imagery -- like, the firefight happened off-screen, while the camera was focused on the "keep off the grass" sign. And the speech on fluoride, just wow -- I had seen it after college but didn't know as much back then, really amazing.

My take after re-watching it aligns with your ending -- it was "The government hired Kubrick to make nuclear explosions seem real; and then later hired him to make space seem real."

what a marvelous art dear friend waiting for your coming blogs dear @libertyteeth

Creating magic ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84