Portraits with Totems Part 2 - The Heron...

in #art6 years ago

Most all my totem animals have come to me in dreams or visions but the Heron is a different story. I claim its energy in my totem club because I had a wonderful experience with one. He taught me about Communication.

A few years ago, my husband and I found a wild Heron in the forest. Its wing was broken and it was trapped on earth.
As we approached, it beat its good wing and showed us its fear. We approached slowly and gently and the beating subsided and he let us check out its injuries. My husband then carried this huge bird to our car and it let me take it on my lap. We drove over an hour to a wildlife vet who would heal him and let him back in the wild.

I just want this to sink in. This huge wild bird sat on my lap the whole time, completely calm. He understood we were helping him and meant no harm.

This language of energy belongs to all Life. It is our one common factor with all our relations. Fear, care, anger, love...all the emotions are common and if we take the time to look, to listen we can actually talk to all of Life. This includes the four elements: earth, air, water and fire. All life responds to our sincere intentions and our emotions express them. All Life speaks in one symphony. We just need to take the time to listen.

All my totem self portraits have my eyes morphed into the creature:

heron cut.jpg

Here's the full image:

LIBA-92-WEB.jpg

...and here's a shot a friend took while I was working on it...
safe_image.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful combination of colors! I like the idea of your eye composed into the creature.
The story is amazing, if that would happen to me I would always keep it close to my heart.

<3 thanks

The connection is so powerful. Brilliant.

we are one. x

Wow what a powerful story, and your art work is stunning, beauty full!!!
Thank you for sharing 💕 the heron is a very special bird and I'm sure there is much for us to learn from them.
🙏 Peace & Blessings

thanks <3 peace and blessings to you tooooo

Herons are great! Such an amazing story...
resteemed.

thanks Pual :)

Thanks for re-telling your experience with the wounded heron. Animals can read our intentions! I admire your beautiful painting style. I'm following to see more in the future.

thanks...Yes at the base we all speak the same language :)

So beautiful. Love your color

thanks :D

Oh yes, this really speaks to me. In fact, just this week we had a pleasure of seeing a heron wading in a stream, right across our balcony, and I grabbed the camera just in time to see him tackle a big fish. Totally relate with your appreciation for the bird as a spirit animal.

Amazing story of your heron rescue! Looking at that situation symbolically, it feels like you were doing big work. To me, the heron represents the solo traveler, and the venturer of the deep emotions. So your mission to save that bird feels like a representation of your work as an artist, and your work for the artists of the world. Thank you. Proud of you.

wow that is such a nice response. Thanks for your story and your reflections. bird blessings!

Is that the permanent studio corner in the apartment now Liba?

hahaha yup. But i designed special furniture since that photo was taken. So its much neater. you can peek here: https://www.matahati.fr/en/detail_mes.php?id_mes=35

Sigh... I'd love to have furniture from you/Matahati... but, I'll need a permanent home before that.

<3 It will happen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82