A new dreamy show for Paris

in #art6 years ago (edited)

As the established art world displays more shoe boxes and shock art, artists around the world are rebelling by making art which declares beauty and meaning.

Visionary, surrealist and symbolist art fell from grace in the 20th century. It has been coined illustrative and kitsch for it has dared to go where no contemporary artist has dared to go. When I walked around the Venice biennale this year, I found yet another room of shoe boxes. The Guggenheim is displaying the dismantled chair of Kennedy and antiques cut up. These gimmicks just don’t resonate with me. I was wowed by Duchamp’s toilet because it was a rebellious original idea. Over 100 years later I think we can move on. The concept has been copied one too many times. I loved the color field painters of the 60’s because it had something to say. But 50 years later the Pompidou museum in Paris just did a contemporary exhibit of white canvases. Been there, done that. Get over it please and show me some beauty!

I started a group of symbolist artists back in 2012. The focus is on heart consciousness done with a mastery of painting and drawing techniques. The styles are not for everyone. I understand that. I am certainly not trying to make my preferred style the new standard. However there is an incredible amount of talent existing on our little planet and we are grouping together to let it shine!

So if you are in Paris this May and would like to see a symbolist-visonary exhibit, please come by for some painting and a drink and a talk with the artists.

poster 2.jpg

Sort:  

thanks my dear <3

so true! this standard of art was actually a big part of the reason I decided not to attend the art academy . Show me some beauty <3

Thanks for mentioning all these great artists, I checked them all out; the exhibit must be a great thing to visit, a great experience. Martina Hoffman impressed me a lot, somehow her work reminds me of a more colorful version of Giger. Good luck with the exhibition!

thanx @nyarlathotep Good eye ;) Yes Martina Hoffmann was friends with Giger for decades actually. He was attracted to this whole world of vision, dreams and imagination. I have exhibited with him a few times. Martina is preparing a solo show at the Giger museum in Switzerland. I think its next month! :)

I am sure it will be a lovely show! Upvoted and resteemed.

thanks sweety! x

wow! I wasn't familiar with these artists! This looks like an incredible show. Now following you, now to see if these other artists are on here to follow....

thanks! Social media is indeed a good platform for discovering :)

I couldn't agree with you more! In a gallery, I will trade the knowing smirk and wink for the thrill and exhilaration of beauty. Kudos to you and your group of artists!

:D yes me too . merci.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62922.80
ETH 3437.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50