Mother's Day Present! Streaming while I paint on Twitch

in #art6 years ago


IMG_3006.JPG

Hello Party Animals!! Here's a quick tutorial of how I created this "Mother's Day Present" painting. I also livestream many of my work. It takes me about an hour or two depending on how much time I have before going to work at the studio. You can go ahead & join me next time. Check out my “Art for lunch” session in the afternoon - livestream on Twitch & Youtube.

During lunch or around the afternoon, I create or recreate an image that I illustrate. This is something that I’ve been doing for fun so why not record & let everyone see how I do it. 😄

[About my day job. I teach in paint & drink studios in various locations of Los Angeles, California. We do private events in the location of your choice too. We provide the art materials. You provide the tables & chair. If you’d like to join me in person at the studios - hit me up, bring your friends, your booze & we’ll party.]

In the meantime, check me out on twitch or youtube livestream. Chat with me there or leave a comment.

Links below. Or you can search for 2maarte in any social media flatform. Thanks. Talk to you then.

Twitch


Youtube https://goo.gl/SktkER

STEP 1: Gather your art supplies. Make sure to have a blank canvas, a cup of water, papertowels, art brushes of different sizes, paperplate, and acrylic paints. You just need the primary colors - red, blue, yellow, black, and white.

IMG_2927.JPG

STEP 2: On your canvas, create the background with a mix of streaky colors. White, blue, and green. Use a big the biggest brush you have. Remember to let it dry before you proceed to creating the flowers.

IMG_3001.JPG

STEP 3: After the background is dry, start outlining the vase & flowers at the right side of your canvas with the middle sized brush. Use the color of your choice. For pink, use red & white. For purple, use red & blue. For orange or coral, use red & yellow.

On to the flowers - start creating dashes from the middle in a circular motion with the color of your choice. As the flower petals get bigger, press your brush harder to get larger & longer strokes - still using a circular motion. When you have reached the size of your liking, start filing up the gaps (of the dashes with white). This will give the illusion of a 2D effect. Add layers of the same color if your paint looks transparent. This will make your painting look bolder.

IMG_3003.JPG

Step 4: Add the leaves.

Switch to your smallest brush. Mix yellow & blue to make green. Create teardrop shapes for the leaves.

Rinse your brush thoroughly & wipe the water off with your papertowel. Add red to some of the leaves (as buds).

Rinse & dry your brush again. Add white highlights on the leaves by tracing the left side of each leaf with white.

IMG_3004.JPG

Step 5: Baby's Breath

Add dots of white in between the flowers for your baby's breath. You may also use the other end of your small brush by dipping it in white to create a smoother circle for the baby's breath.

IMG_3006.JPG

And you're done. Congrats!

Sort:  

I want to try this out. Thanks for the step by steps. Flowers are always hard for me....to many folds and curves. You should post a flower tutorial video.

Thanks. I do have a livestream video on twitch and youtube.

I'm also going to post an edited & time lapse version in a few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52