Making Your Hobby Into a Profession – Is It Worth It?

in #art7 years ago

Yes. First of All, Yes


I have to begin by saying that I'm that strange person who could never, ever hold a day job. I'm not good with regular hours, I'm very bad at commuting every day and being nice to people I don't like, and I tend to tell my bosses and colleagues whenever I think they're wrong (which is to say, quite often). So for me, it was never a question of what job I was going to have, but rather what interesting things can I do from home, which also happen to potentially generate income.

For years and years, the clear choice was texts. First I wrote for a living, then edited, now I also translate. And while this is still my day job, I've always dared dreaming of doing something a bit more creative.
So I painted some, and that was fine. I'm not good at drawing and painting from imagination, and so I ended up painting landscapes or screenshots of such, which was fun. But it took too long, and at least these days I have a problem creating items that take days to complete.
Here you can see my best two achievements of my drawing experiments, maybe there'll be more to come sometime, when I get inspired:

2016-01-10 13.16.50.jpg

2013-11-17 14.01.54.jpg

It was decided – no painting, then. I really wanted to sculpt, but this requires courses and materials I can't have at home, and while it saddened me quite a bit, it led me on to a hobby I used to have as a kid, verging on my teenage years – jewelry making.
I've always been thinking of how to increase my income, so that I can buy stuff without having to beg my parents for money and without saving all of my allowance money (because a girl's gotta live, right? Even a 9-10 years old one…). So, around that age, I discovered the world of jewelry and the possibilities it entails.

Looking back, the jewelry I made was… well, very childish. I mainly focused on single-strand bracelets made out of fishing lines (nylon strings), and I had a very limited selection of types and colors of beads. But I still prepared them, I worked hard, and sold those bracelets and necklaces for ridiculous prices, which still covered the costs, but not much more. Not very efficient, come to think about it, although it was a hobby that funds itself, and how many of us can say they've got one of those?
So when I got back to the jewelry making business, I started doing that as a hobby, too – testing things, trying new patterns I thought of, waking up in the morning and sitting an entire day with wires and beads scattered all over my desk, to experiment on something that "came to me in a dream" (I swear I'm not usually like that). This was the result, by the way:

2017-09-13 13.38.08.jpg

2017-09-13 20.53.14.jpg

In short, jewelry making has proven itself to be very enjoyable, and people were enthusiastic about the things I was making. So far, so good. The next step was opening an Etsy shop. Now, this is the hard part. I chose Etsy because it's the most convenient platform for me at this point, despite the need to battle for exposure against what may be millions of other sellers. And I'm new here, I don't even know what I'm doing. So what do I do? Answer: experiment here too.
So this is my shop, where I'm currently experimenting. I try new styles of photography, new methods, new keywords, new everything. And I'd love to know what you think.
Here are some more photos of my creations in various times over the past year or so. If you like them, please upvote and comment (I'd love to know what you think), go to the Etsy shop and buy them for your loved ones, or contact me to see if there's anything lovely I can make that would be suitable just for you :-)

And in the meantime – don't forget to have a wonderful day.

2018-01-21 18.38.59.jpg

2017-08-31 17.54.43.jpg

2017-08-23 18.38.15.jpg

2017-01-05 20.55.24.jpg

2017-09-26 10.51.33.jpg

Sort:  

!מאמר מרשים מאוד! אני גם עובד מהבית מאותן הסיבות
עוקב אחרייך

It's always fun to meet new dedicated freelancers!
Thanks for commenting, following back. Keep in touch :-)

עם הופעת הקריפטו, זו אחת ההזדמנויות כדי להפוך לעצמאי. יש הרבה הזדמנויות בתחום. אוהב את הכתיבה שלך! זה חלק, זורם ומהנה. שתפי את הסוד:) הזכרת לי שפעם ניסיתי לצייר טיגריס, יצא לי חתול:) הסבלנות פוקעת לי משום מה בדברים האלה

A cat is much nicer than a tiger, in my opinion (got two of them after all - not the tiger).
Painting is tough. It takes more time and much more patience than I've got, unfortunately. However, text has always been an easy method of expression for me (I started writing for a living when I was 17, and even when I quit I kept my profession related to texts).
I'm really glad you like my stuff, it's always great fun to hear. Thanks :-)

I would put your first drawing - the ocean on my wall :) And those bracelets are lovely! Keep up :)

Really? Thanks! This is absolutely the best compliment I can think of at this point :-)
You make me want to pursue this hobby after all... maybe given enough time.

hi! nice handmades , this is great that you work in Etsy shop too ,
i'm in love with handicrafts , i used to make them also , it's lovely <3

@adelepazani thanks!
I hope you'll like additional things I'll post in the future. On my part, I'll definitely be following you, I like your style :-)
(if you liked my works, please recommend me to all your friends and loved ones, I could use every help I can get).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68