Unity Shooter - Simple drone design

in #art8 years ago (edited)

So I thought I'd take a small break from all the programming and do up a very, very simple drone idea I had for my shooter, since I've got to have various enemies to deal with and will be having a bit of stealth mechanics in place thanks to the line of sight code what better thing to build than a small alien drone?

So I decided to get sketching and I came up with this in photoshop.

As you can see, very simple sphere design, perhaps if I want to I'll do a more complicated drone in the future but this will do for now just to have a nice visual that isn't a capsule to look at. I then after doing this concept art went and did a mock up in Maya and created the 3D model. Importing 3D models like this in Unity is very simple, literally just a case of drag and drop however I need to double check how to get the navmesh agents working with floating enemies like this. Even though it's above the ground it won't be very maneuverable so I should still be able to get away with using the standard pathfinding and movement that Unity provides.

Once I do all this, I'll show you the little drone in action, I already have that blue light on the top of it's head slowly flashing and what I'll have next is make it so that a cone actually shoots out of it's red eye that you can see so you have a visual indicator of how far the line of sight goes on it like in all those stealth games where you avoid spotlights and so on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57