Two steps forward, one step back: framing the studio

in #art4 years ago

IMG_9864-steemit.jpg

With Spring here, it's time to tidy up the studio, and is it ever overdue! But... I've only made minimal progress so far because attacking each problem thing is a mini-project on its own. Simply reshuffling only postpones the bitter pill. Blindly throwing things out, could lead to useful (are you being serious?) materials lost.

IMG_9864-xsw.jpg

So one of the first things on the list was a frame, a failed project from over a year ago, where the wood was too warped, leading to the canvas that it was built for, itself to be twisted.

Solution: Cut it down to and make smaller frames out of it, and thereby eliminating the warp. Easy idea, but, more work than was anticipated.

From one frame, I now have two smaller ones. Tomorrow the project is to sand the rough spots back and then spay them black. After that, will the be the silver trim.

I very much like this style for frame, as it is easy to build, with 90° angles and it looks good.

The rest of the studio clean up is still awaiting my attention...

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.

Sort:  

I have to do the same thing with mny art cupboard ^_^; Yay for making smaller frames out of warped frame!

Hope the rest of your cleanup isn't as big a job as it looks XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71