Excuses

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I posted to Steemit. I have good excuse, I have been making the most of what is left of the Summer, as I have missed most of it by staying indoors to work in the studio. I plan to get outside a few times more before the heat and sunshine fades.

Why so busy? I have an impending exhibition this coming October and I need a decent amount of artwork to hang on the walls.

All work and no play makes Leo a dull boy. So as Autumn approaches, this means wine tasting season is approaching. This means going for walks in the hills, forests and vineyards to enjoy a glass or two of wine with the change season. 

Admission

In my previous post, I discussed the painted portrait as a form of selfie, or not. Although I haven't ventured as far as to paint self portraits yet, most of the hand studies I have posted to Steemit are of my own. I figure I can get away with that more often than painting my own selfies.


untitled hand study, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Please leave your thoughts and comments below. Upvote and Resteem if you like it.


More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Well defined, strong with a sense of confidence. These are the hands a woman needs to by touched by.
And Ι just remembered the words of a famous greek actor, Thanasis Veggos:
"What is happiness?"
"I had to grow old to learn what happiness is.
Well, happiness is a pair of hands, two hands.
The ones to hug you, hold you, put you to sleep, take care of you, caress you and in the end those hands will close your eyes.
Too many hands will drain your energy. A simple waste of time. You'll see it for yourself as you're getting older."

Thank you for the very thoughtful reply Ruth. In those words is experience indeed speaking. Being the creature we are, we are nothing without others.

Beautiful painting :) Amazing details! :) Love it!

Steem on! Cheers! :)

Thank you @temeraire! More to come. =)

Can't wait! :)

Beautiful painting Leo! Looking forward to see more from you. Enjoy the last days of summer!!! :-)

Thank you Agnes! =)

wow, the wine tasting season sounds awesome! will you paint it? 😁

ha ha, no, drink it! =)

Not getting outside because of all the painting to do sounds only too familiar. I have spent to many good summers (whatever this may be in Germany) this way and so one day a week I take out the Rocket. My "steemengine" has to be moved regularly after all ;-)

Great work, as always. May I ask the dates and location of your exhibition?

Thank you Reinhard! =)
Friday 6th October, Vienna... off the top of my head. I'll confirm.

Thanks a lot Leo. Please make sure you keep me up to date!

Ja sicher! Haben keinen Angst davon. ;-)

dont waste your summer go to the beach and enjoy.... you have over a months time i am sure you will find decent artworks easuly

ha ha, the beach is a bit far away from here. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64099.19
ETH 2538.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67