No Rest for the Wicked

in #art6 years ago (edited)


With the last painting only just finished and barely dry, I've started two more straight away. I feel that January has been a bit of a slow start for 2018 and so I need to shift the production up a gear or two, or a painting or two as the case may be. 

In these initial stages, I'll bounce between the two until I settle on completing one of them. The other will be then completed soon after.

Why all of the pressure? Am I just out to put more runs on the scoreboard? Partially yes, but mostly to coach myself into a space where I am not thinking about my painting process and just doing it. It is all too easy to settle into comfortable ways with my art technique and not make further progress.

I have targets with the standard and type of technique I want to develop. The only way I'm going to get there is to produce, produce, produce, or practice, practice, practice.

So, no rest for the wicked!


works in progress Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

practice leads to product , you start two painting at the same time , i can imagine the final step , that warm colours on their skin in your style

Thank you Adele!

Great attitude / great artwork!

Thank you Thomas!

I’m there with you! Ive been telling myself to keep creating and then forcing myself into new things. Glad to see you busy at work and I’m excited to see the finished paintings. :)

Thank you @vermillionfox! It's the only way forward. I listen to a number of artist's podcasts and they all tell the same story, you have to keep on pushing yourself if you want to make progress. It doesn't come by itself.

The paintings are coming along. I am now focused on one and am hoping to have it completed in the next days. Stay tuned... =)

I like your work. Did you have a model?

Thank you @lindiry! For these I used photo references. I'm always looking for models.

I'd offer the fact I've had a really slow start as consolation but that's pretty much normal for me despite efforts XD Good luck getting into that space, and don't forget to enjoy the producing and practising and whatnot ;D

goatsig

I'm always enjoying the painting, even if I'm frustrated at times. It's what I always wanted to do, and now I do it as a profession. What's not to like? =)

Hmmm... you mentioned space... I might just have an idea for a new blog post.

REALLY NICE !!!

Thank you Caroline!

I'm stoked and relieved to have found your profile. This is the sort of dedication and quality of work I've been looking for on #steemit. Keep up the brilliant work and write-up. I'll be following. Cheers! Z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45