Leaving Home

in #art6 years ago


Normally I'm not too sentimental about my paintings. This painting, "Hear, See, Speak, Think No Evil", after all was absent from the studio for half year on exhibition. But, I guess there was the thought that it might come back. Today, I have to pack the painting to send him to his new home, a permanent one. So as I'm packing the painting, I'm saying my last goodbyes. Who knows if and when I might ever see it again. However, it will be out in the world doing its thing and bringing some one else enjoyment. 

For me it is an important thing to know that some one values the artwork. Sometimes, I randomly receive photos from my collectors that I haven't hear from for some time, of my painting hanging on the wall and they just want to tell me how much they enjoy having it their life. This gives me a real sense of satisfaction.

While there may be an empty space on my studio wall now, this presents a brilliant opportunity to fill it with something new. I'm already mulling over what that next painting might be.

This is the flow of the studio, one of non attachment, hold and release, for the moment as long as that may be.


"Hear, See, Speak, Think No Evil" Leo Plaw, 70 x 50cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Yes you are right a new opportunity to fill with your creative gift. Have at it, when we are grateful for our abilities, they pay back immediately. Keep on keepin' on. Thank you for sharing your feelings and inspiration.

The more creativity we give out, the more we have to draw upon. =)

this is a fantastic piece of work! as a writer, i always find it fascinating that artists create something on canvas and then release it out into the wild. it's the ONLY version of it and then it's out the door. for me, i own all the original writing, so everything of mine is simply copied; there's no real loss for me when i sell my work as i still retain it in its unique form. i don't know that i'd be able to get rid of my visual works the way you all do. must be something of a tough process, especially with a piece as wonderful as this one is.

Cheers @bucho! And thank you for the resteem! =)

Yes, first time around it was really hard to let my painting go. But I soon realised it is a rather cathartic process, very freeing. Sometimes you hear back again, when the owners randomly send you a message and photo of how happy they are. Its nice to know that something you've created is constant part in someone's life.

I guess for you as a writer the satisfaction is to see your work replicated.

Congrats Leo....that's an awesome painting. Lucky new owner :-)

Thank you sir! I just shipped the painting today. I think he'll be a happy new owner when it arrives next week. =)

They have to continue their life ..it's what I say to myself..And also that moment with empty wall place can be pretty liberating :)

YES! Liberating is the word @junwatercolor. It is also a sense of satisfaction, mission accomplished, another artwork sold means the journey of being a sustainable artist continues. That, is the best part, I continue on to produce more artwork. =)

The "loss" of one, enables the creation of more.

You are so talented! Cabt believe this is a painting

Great work, really good work on the realism! It's always hard to let your babies go ;)

Cheers Sander! Usually I'm not so attached to my paintings. I shipped the painting today and have already rearranged the studio so there is no gap on the wall. Plus the new owner is really looking forward to receiving it. That is kind of the final part of a painting, a happy owner. =)

Wow painting
Good post

Thank you!

Stunning work . . . May it bring joy in its new home!

The new owner is a man of few words, but indicated he's very happy to have it. =)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @kubbyelizabeth from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I know what it's like to think "I'll never see this piece again." It's a sad moment, but it should also be a proud one, because you made something worth giving back to the world. Not everything we create gets to be that valuable.

Sometimes the collectors send me photos of my artwork years later, just because they enjoy it so much. It certainly gives you the warm and fuzzies. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29