Laid Back

in #art6 years ago


I'm happy to say this is turning out to be a very productive week. Two weeks off in the countryside has certainly been invigorating and given me fresh wind in my sails.

Here's the latest drawing that I completed today.

But I'm not stopping there. I'm going to put an oil wash over an ink drawing that I marked up on a canvas. I might at that point call it a day.

May your week also be zipping along nicely.

Steem on!


"Figure 23", Leo Plaw, 34 x  24cm, pastel pencil on paper

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Your artworks were really amazing,all post were actually perfect!!! I followed you so I can see more of your works😊...

Thank you @ghail! More artwork is coming along very soon. Watch this space...

This looks increidebly good! I love the values and uusshh I would like to do that.
is the paper that color, like violet?

Thank you @faffy! The paper is a warmish grey. The secret to the values is to build them up slowly from your mid range out to the darks and lights. Then you have better control over them.

aaah another beautiful figure, @leoplaw ! your pencil is wonderful and well defined as always, very fine where they need to be and very soft where they must be <3 gorgeous pose and lady~

Thank you @veryspider! Practice is helping me refine them. I'm learning a great deal along the way.

I need to get my hands on some toned paper. It speeds up figure drawings so much.

Working on toned paper was a revolution for me. I prefer it over white paper any day.

And your feeling of invigoration after a break is precisely why I keep telling friends (particularly the ones that have been swept up in the delusion that you somehow need to be productive all the time at all costs otherwise you're a lazy good for nothing o_O) that there is absolutely nothing wrong with spending time chilling til the fire reignites :) Yay for being productive again anyway, that is a really nice drawing (although I'm also pretty convinced that you're capable of doing a drawing that isn't XP)

Cheers @ryivhnn!

I'm currently searching for the right work and play balance. I need time out to move my body and enjoy some space. I've made a habit of rising early, working through the day, and then by late afternoon / evening make my way out for a walk around the palace gardens.

My biggest step was how I use my evening hours. Now I dine as early as possible, attempt to refrain from work, relax, do domestic duties and then early to bed so I can rise early the next day and leap into the art refreshed. I'm far more productive early in the day after a good nights sleep, than pushing on through the night.

I usually take time out for the weekend. The next step is to now make time for wholedays say a week or two where I can really recharge the batteries.

BUT... that all said, I am not a believer in chilling until the fire reignites. I see too many people fall into the inertia of waiting for inspiration and achieving little. My approach is now is to manage my time.

P.S. Managing my computer / internet / social media time is the next crucial step in my productivity. ;-)

Ah, hier ist die komplette Zeichnung zu sehen :)! Hab auf FB schon einen Ausschnitt entdeckt aber nicht das ganze Bild. :)
Wunderbare Zeichnung!

Danke dir Kathrina! =)
Ja, FB ist so Doof das ich nicht die ganze Bild posten werde. Na ja, FB Leute haben Pecht. Sie mussen zu Steemit wo es besser ist kommen.

Beautiful....always loved your posts :-)

...amazing...just amazing

shared on FB so people there see what they are missing

Cheers @arseniclullaby! Careful FB doesn't punish you for breaking "community" standards / guidelines, moral codes, whatever. =)

Me getting blocked from posting for a week, for posting a brilliant illustration like this...might be the kick in the ass that gets many of my followers leave and come here.

That would be great to get your followers, here, but hoping you're not blocked from your fans. =)

progress often require sacrifice...besides...they find me if I get kicked offa there, there is no escape from them ;)

The way you have worded that... sounds devilishly like one of your diabolical cartoons. 3:)

Following you on FB... for as long as you or I remain on the platform. ;-)

hahaha! found you and friend requested...let's educate these people!

This has been a challenging week for me with too many things being far too busy, but I'll keep my head down and power through, for it will soon be Autumn, thank God.

I'll be missing Summer. There are many things to enjoy about early Autumn, but, ah Spring and Summer, glorious days. =)

It's true and I LOVE Spring and Summer is good, but I'm always the busiest in Summer so it is joy to be on the sea but also annoying to be so busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99