If the Sky Should Fall

in #art6 years ago


Sometimes, not often, there will be a painting in my studio that eludes me. I can't find the resolution for it and so it will hang there on my wall accusingly, awaiting the attention it is due. This particular painting had its genesis some time last year. 

When I was packing work to take with me for my journey out to Peter @gric's I bundled this one along with a few others. There in the peace and quite I found that I had little more to do on it, and in reality I was just avoiding completing it. I wonder why. I'll have to contemplate that one.

"If the Sky Should Fall", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Wonderful painting!!

Amazing skills, great work 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe another element is needed to complete the composition. Somthing above the figure representing the sky in a physical way.

IF the sky should fall... there won't be much above him. ;-)

a big IF - it may never happen, even if Chicken Little is running around with its head cut off.
Depends also on the definition of sky ..... the universe is vast (not even talking about dimensions), and what we see as sky is just the lid of the box we live in.

...and the box we live in... Pandora's Box?

really striking <3 love the foreshortening with both of his arms extended towards us <3 gorgeous tonality, also <3

Maybe look at it as a diptych, not side-by-side, but another canvas above it, to complete the composition - i.e. there is not enough "sky" above him that warrants the title.
sometimes, the critic in me kicks in

he he... sorry if you have to use your imagination. ;-)

Besides, if the sky falls, there won't be anything above him.

You picked a so uncommon body position and you created a very beautiful work with a "meaning" !

Thank you @giosou! I specifically look for poses that express something. They have to be in some way theatrical.

mission acomplished !

its a big ask. But it looks like you answered it x

Fascinating piece !

Hello... It's me you're looking for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23