Get It Off Your Chest

in #art7 years ago

Sometimes holding our thoughts in is a bit like holding our breath, you'll come close to passing out and not feel so good afterwards. Some people never seem to have this problem and the stream words flows from their mouths regardless of the results. 

Either way, both have their consequences. Just like breathing, we need to exhale our thoughts at times, however, how we express them is a delicate art. Being motivated by fear, is never a good place to enact from, arising from perceived consequences or the unknown. The unknown usually is usually filled in by our imagination. I quite like the quote, "worry is a misuse of imagination."

So, how do we approach the unknown? With curiosity and inquire. This is something I have started to put into practice, more consciously, especially in personal interactions - ask questions. Not questions worded in an accusing manner, but rather in matter of fact tone. It is amazing the results it brings.

Often when we ask questions of others, we discover that they too are holding back on their thoughts. Another quote that I read recently describes succinctly what I am talking about.

"It is not so much what is said, but rather what not is said, that destroys a relationship."


"Off Your Chest", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.

More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I liked the quote "anxiety is the misuse of the imagination". The picture at the height. Thanks. I supported and rested.

Thank you@magnata!

Hey there @leoplaw your painting is part of the 3rd Sgoa Exhibition. Check it out, comment and leave your vote :)
sgoa 3rd poster smal.png

Thanking you most kindly! I will do right now! =)

Gorgeous figure painting. I love the details and the intensity in the painting.
You are correct - "worry is a misuse of imagination." and "It is not so much what is said, but rather what not is said, that destroys a relationship." :)
Great work and great read :) . Upvoted and followed :)
Saw your work via @sgoa post :)

Thank you @nehab! I also saw your work via @sgoa. I'm heading over to your profile to check your work out.

You are most welcome. 😊 . And thank you for visiting my profile. This is an honour. I have not yet put up my actual work here. I have a profile on Deviant Art. And some on Twitter. In time, I will upload it here. Your art is damn good 😊👍💐

Cheers @nehab!

Get cracking! Steemit actually pays you, Twitter and the rest cost you. =)

Yes , I realise that. 👍 I was just in the process of finding my way around 😊 . With your encouragement, I will get cracking @leoplaw 😊

Hi! I am happy to inform you this post made it to the TOP 7 POSTERS & POST OF THE DAY

You can Read more about it here TOP 7 POSTERS & POST OF THE DAY

I wish it will send some more traffic to your Post.

Thank you for writing awesome content

And thank you @ambmichael! =)

If people always shared their thoughts (even without being "delicate") the world would a much better place :)

Although in the current social climate, some would not agree with you on that point, and would go further to say we need thought police. ;-)

I'm falling in love with your hands! They're so expressive! The strongest part in most of your paintings I've seen so far!

Thank you Ruth! Sometimes the hands can say as much as the face.

I agree!
I'd love to see a painting of a back as well. I simply adore the sincerity of a man's back, the neck supporting his head, the well-shaped muscles and lines leading all the way down to the waist. The back he would use as a shield to protect his woman (I guess I'm an old-school romantic :P )

Hmmm... there might be something like that in the future. Stay tuned.

Yesterday i was talking with a friend of mine about sharing thoughts with others. The concept of this idea mutating every day with all the media that is feeding on this behavior. Some is abusing it to the scale where they share everything that is going in their heads. No matter if is needed or not... Flooding everything with mostly nonsense...
Cheers! No need to comment the artwork :)

Indeed it is a confusing time with regards to communication, and yes, the media certainly does not help. I think we all need to step back from media and social media to some extent and actually find each other. Meaning, making time and space for others, engaging with each other directly.

Aaaaadn it's another resteem for @leoplaw on the Steemit gallery of Art :) post card1.png

Thaaaank you very much @sgoa! =)
Thank you also for supporting Steemit artists.

As always - your art is amazing. And the thoughts you share as well. Yes, I think what we don't say has a much larger impact. More in ourselves. We might think - make up stories- make assumptions - and then base actions on those instead of reality. that usually is a bad idea.
Resteemed

Yes, for most of our lives are lived though assumptions, and it is a hard habit to break.
Thank you for the resteem Marianne! =)

Thank you for sharing your art and thoughts!

Hey this is brilliant. Fabulous artwork and important concepts to contemplate. Great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83