Prepping the Canvases

in #art6 years ago (edited)

After a visit to the art supply shop, there's still some work to do before I start painting. I'm fussy about the look and feel of my canvases, so I add some extra layers of gesso to achieve the finish I like.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


I'm having fun shooting the video and editing them. I've been studying the edits of other vloggers to pick up some better edits along the way as well as better footage shooting. Now that I have my new computer, there is less time spent waiting, which means I can see the results faster. This means, more time doing what I should be doing, and that is painting.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I had used acrylic modelling paste on some of my canvases to build up the surface. It is quite flexible (basically marble dust and acrylic binder - even tightly rolled, there is no cracking - I transported those canvases many times rolled, some date back to the eighties). Applied in several layers and sanded between, final layer was gesso. This if you want to roll your canvas for transport, but smaller works I prefer to paint on wood.

I also tried the acrylic modelling paste. However, I found that just working with gesso alone was much less work to sand back. I like painting on wood also, but don't do it so often as stretched canvases are cheaper.

Have fun in Viechtach! =)

WOW, the speed you pick up is totally amazing! Excellent presentation though. I'll remember it with some canvases I'll have to sand in the near future :-)

Yep, I'm lightning fast! ;-)
I can't waste time, there's paintings to paint.

LOL... I can see that!

Leo, may I invite you to do a post about yourself for artistbehindthearttreat... I think it would be great to see you there. Plus we also need to keep a balance in "genres" ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62