Dante - drawing

in #art5 years ago


What was meant to be a quick sketch, a practice run, ended up being something more finished. I'm constantly trying to practice and refine my drawing skills by overcoming my usual habits, and some of those are hard to break.

As this was meant to be a quick one, I didn't set up the time lapse.

I've recently been exploring a vein of material for ideas and inspiration. I think I will have plenty to work on for some time. The wish list of artwork to create is piling up. I need to speed things up.


"Dante", Leo Plaw, 42 x 29cm, graphite pencil on paper   

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

One of my favorite Dantes - I love a strong nose - (and your version is lovely) BUT is it the real Dante...?!

The many versions of Dante are more or less caricatures. Everybody has / had an interpretation of him. Forensic science paints their own. https://www.livescience.com/1220-dante.html

Dante

Mine is modelled from a famous statue, which I guess was attempting to make him look rather heroic. Take your pick.

No need to travel the world when you have Everpedia / Wikipedia. ;-)

Monument to Dante
The Statue of Dante Alighieri (Monumento a Dante Alighieri) is a monument of Dante Alighieri. It is located in Piazza Santa Croce, next to Basilica of Santa Croce, Florence, Italy. It was built in 1865 by Italian sculptor Enrico Pazzi.

you are one smart little bot - repeating what I had linked to. I think people can check for themselves, but hey, have fun!

"Smart" little bot is earning Steem with these comments.

yeah, dipping into the pool so we get less. And then there are the fools like this Jaguar that Peter and I are battling. Annoying artists with abuse reports and harassing with the sources bot. I thought we get away from trolls (that infest Facebook) when we came here. Fat chance!

It's more so, you're dealing with humans, and there's always a few arseholes that come with the mix.

god-assholes.jpg

Gotta love the ones that were meant to be quick 🤣 I have quite a few completed works that were meant to be sketchies.

I don’t know if it’s the way you drew it or the monochrome, it kind of looks like a busy design and that your next piece should be a sculpture 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

=)
Sculpture requires the space to do it. So for now, it will be further sketches or paintings. Love the paint.
The reference was a sculpture, so maybe that's what you're seeing.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Beautiful! Amazing work, I really like it.

just wondering - did you travel to Florence to draw this ;)
shared it
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1090552409124950016

I did visit Florence many moons ago, but not to photograph this. I did an image search on http://yandex.com/images. It beats Google image search.

Thank you for sharing matey. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94