Can't Forget - Progress

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I missed out on photographing the very middle stage of this painting's development. So with this development  overview you see more of the beginning and the end, but I think you still get the idea.

With this figure I was again working with a more muted palette because I liked the effect in a couple of previous paintings. However, the following painting will be a bit more colourful. My intent is to try out different means of expressing the image to extend my visual vocabulary. I want to be able to pick the best technique and palette that best suits the image and not be limited by my own painting habits.

There are so many different ways of expressing an image in paint. I want to explore as many as I can.


"Can't Forget" Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

amazing post <3 love the stages shown... i really like how you treat dark and light in this piece. there's so much drama <3

upvotes

Cheers @veryspider! Drama is one of my aims for my artwork. I want people to feel something.

really nice work man, how long have you been painting for?
following for more paint!

Thank you Rob! I started out about 20 years ago, but in the last five years started taking it in the current incarnation. I won't disappoint, more paint to come. =)

Wow, I somehow expected it to be a lot taller :D but then I read 24x30 cm

I stick to smaller pieces Max, as it allows me to finish them quicker and move on to the next, thereby speeding up my learning processes.

Wasn't meant as a critic, just seemed like one of these Jacques-Louis David pieces that are enormous :D

Keine Sorge Max. It wasn't taken as a criticism. =)
Stick around, I will get to a couple of larger pieces this year, and then you can compare the difference.

I sure will 🧐

you are on a roll!

Rollin', rollin', rollin' keep those artworks rollin' ;-)

Are you in Serbia now?

not yet - leaving tomorrow (Sunday morning) arriving Novi Sad around 7 PM. Once I am there I won't be on line much, definitely not Steemit - don't have it installed on my phone. Not taking my laptop - be back by on the 15th anyway.

Have fun! =)

Did you still start with a pencil sketch like the other one and just took a photo further along in the process or did you start with value painting? Idea has been gotten I think :)

goatsig

Yes, it was started with pencil. If look very close in the first image you'll still see some of the lines. At some point I'll give it a shot with skipping the pencil and just jump straight in on the oils. At the moment I have many other aspects of the painting to handle and master.

Wow! Impressive, are you into digital work too?

Hi @artzanolino! While I can find my way around various bits of software and have created graphics and animations for work over the years, at this point in time I'm not doing any digital artwork. I need to by a drawing tablet first. If I were to go into it, Krita would be my tool of choice.

Wonderful man, just a wonderful work of art. Thank you for sharing this amazing piece!

Wow.....very nice painting.

Thank you!

Your art painting is really creativity.i wish all the best next time.this picture is amazing.

Amazing this art,,, i appreciate this painting .....all the best dear...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26