Before the Rain Comes - Process

in #art6 years ago

A few days ago I presented to you the completed painting, "Before the Rain Comes". Here I'll give you an overview of the development process.

I usually start out my works with a simple thirds grid. I've used other more complex ones before, but with the simple thirds, I am pushing myself to work quickly, not be lost in the details and to work more directly from sight. You can make out the grid in the first frame. I also only use a pastel pencil for this because it does blend and move with the oil media. Where as graphite is actually used as an industrial lubricant, meaning the oils do not bond with it. This is not a good thing.

I then work with a washes of oils mixed with balsam turpentine. I would work more detailed and finer with the shading for the underpainting, but I must admit to being impatient.

Progressing to the deeper shadows of the image, I am still attempting to keep focused on the basic forms. This means, I am still working to see the abstract shapes in the painting. This allows for the foundation to build the colour, details and shading upon in the later stages.

By the following stage I am now considering the colours, paying attention to alternating cool and warm colours. I also have to be aware of the values (light to dark) so that I create the illusion of volume. When I am working from a black and white reference and have to translate it into colour, I am faced with a bit of challenge. I have to use other colour references perhaps of different model to make an educated choice as to what the natural play of colours should be.

At the final stage, I am tweaking the colours to make the whole painting work cohesively. Sometimes I might even at a late stage obliterate (paint over) parts of painting to simplify it for the sake of the overall composition. Painting is a process of give and take. It requires a level of detachment so that you can achieve something better for the greater good of the image. In fact, I actually enjoy this process. It is very cathartic.

I hope you enjoyed this little journey with me on this painting. 


"Before the Rain Comes" Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

in oil painting i really like working after 70% .. when layers are stronger ,and we can add lights and warm colours ,
you have your style i love it ,

The beginning stages and end stages I love. There is middle that I call the ugly phase, where it requires and act of faith, prior experience to push on through, because I know it gets better.

thank you for showing the previous steps! To me that makes a work of art even more beautyfull! following!

The journey to a finished work of art is mystery for many people. But like many things, it is a series of small steps and knowing the right order to do them in. Hmmm... I guess it is like old time dancing then. =)

Beautiful! Thanks for posting evidence of your mastery through the stages!

I still feel there is more to achieve. Thank you!

Amazing post. Good art shown in this post. Nice technical pictures. Thanks for sharing the post.

wow .. Leo. this is a perfect drawing! extraordinary coloring. like a real size. I liked it very much. Your technique and expression are very successful. congratulations

Wow that is really amazing work well done!

Oh this is beautiful and such a realistically painted back 🔥

OMG ITS AMAZING

Beautiful in the Purest sense .

My compliments.. Will re-steem for you.

KEEP It up ! ☻☻

Great oils work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87