And So It Begins Again

in #art7 years ago


Never stop and keep the momentum going, is the lesson I've learnt over the years with artwork. Many say that creativity is not something that you can turn on like a tap. But you can certainly train it to be more regular when you train it as a habit. So even if you are having a "non-creative" day there is output.

Creativity, like motivation, is not something that is powered by willpower alone. A few searches will show you that there is copious amounts of research that show good habits, dealing with things in bite sized chunks and pain old discipline is what gets you over the finishing line, whether you are an athlete, studying student, performing musician, artist or even entrepreneur. 

Yesterday I finished a painting, "Before the Rain Comes", I documented it and uploaded to various social media sites. But I did not stop there. Sure I took a little break, but that evening I was reviewing my list of next images to paint, picked one and started sketching it up on the canvas. Today, I am now ready to start painting the next painting, thus I keep my creative flow going. This is how I managed to produce 70 artworks last year.

Preparation also plays a big role in all of this. I have art supplies ready and waiting. I'll purchase canvases in bulk, and then prepare them all at once (extra gesso, sanding, painting the sides), so that last night I could just grab a canvas and start, no waiting and delays which lead to procrastination, I stay in my flow and the creative production line keeps moving.

Does it lessen my creativity or my originality? No! It fires me up and inspires me to go further and reach for my next artist goal.

So now, after all of that, it's time for me to get down to the paint. Thank you for joining me on the journey. =)


work in progress... Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

i like your energy and your passion for your artworks leo . :-)

Thank you Adele! You also have energy and passion. =)

Never relent. Keep up the work. More grease to thine elbows

Greasing the elbows here. =)

Great comparison between motivation and creativity, one of the best i can say. I find that really funny, cause people tend to stop when they do not feel like doing something like painting, cause you're the one that is pushing yourself to do what you do. Usually, the motivation comes to me when I start painting... rarely before that. I understood that in the middle of the last year and I abuse that fact since then.

I also have a bit of battle getting started. But once I push myself through the inertia, then I can't stop. Thus it is preferable that I start the day early, otherwise it means very late nights and terrible sleeping patterns. I also find the early starts far more productive.

Oh... The sleeping regimes. I find the night better for work, cause it's easier to isolate myself and work. But the day is better for doing work outside, meeting with people and socializing. Recently I feel like I'm more productive in the morning too. Not sure why. I've seen a lot of articles about the difference between working thru the day and the night. I prefer to work at night if I want to tunnel, and thru the day, if I have other tasks related to other people. My sleep regime is pure chaos, I try to establish a sleeping routine but it's not that easy cause of all the years playing games and studying in the late hours of the day.

I made an absolute mess of my sleep patterns a few years ago, so much so I did not see daylight. That really started to affect my outlook on things. It really requires mindfulness to institute the discipline with bed time. The time we actually get to bed is the key.

I just need more self-discipline cause my family suffers from that, they don't show it but... I guess that you know the look on their face when they see you tired, looking like zombie.

Wow.. Lovely art and painting

Looks like a fine start :D

Thanking you kindly good sir! =)

well start !! i like painting too but im bad hahhahah :D

Maybe you are now, but if keep going, you will see an improvement. It worked for me!

yes im trying now 😂😂😂😂, i have some in my post.

Dear friend,
your article is very nice so we voted and resteem.

Thank you for the resteem @sajumiah!

♦♦beautifull art dear and great job i like your art♦♦

Brother great advice! I am a little intermittent and now I am working on several projects at the same time so I will take your advice and I will become a habit !! Thank you more to say that your work is magnificent! I love a hug!

Glad to hear the post gave you some inspiration. So stick with it, little bit by little bit. =)
Leo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39