Ruining Furniture

in #art7 years ago

After a while of paper mosaics, tracing and coloring on paper
just wasn't cutting it.

I'm an artist, after all.
My natural drive is to be destructive-- err, expansive.

So I snagged a cheapo desk from a thrift store and started to paint.

I've always had a fascination with cherry blossom trees (my first bonsai toothpick tree was one, in fact), so I figured the layout of the desk would contribute to the movement of the tree and the petals.

The end result wasn't bad. I painted it with acrylic and sealed it a few times.

But it was too big for my liking.

I was relatively new to the whole mosaic thing and still hadn't taken my work down to the micro level and super detailed patterns.

In the end, this guy went back to the thrift store.

My hope is that someone saw it and fell in love.
(I often give a lot of my art away with that little wish in mind.)
And it's fun to imagine where it is now!

Thank you for reading!

Please upvote, resteem, blah blah blah.

It's your life, do what you want.

Sort:  

I voted and resteem your post.

Thank you @Yehey

Looks fun! Are you wanting to go into smaller detail and try that on furniture? I bet it's time consuming, but the end result (even as you did here) is beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

Oh thanks! That was the only real piece of furniture I painted on. One of these days I might try again, but I'm into the toothpick painting now. And that's not going on furniture.

What is the toothpick painting? I have never heard about it, explain in detail please.

I have a couple of older posts about it. It's literally painting with a toothpick. Here's one of the previous posts - https://steemit.com/painting/@lenadr/toothpick-painting-fir-bonsai

My natural drive is to be destructive-- err, expansive.

YES. haha hope your hard work finds a good home :)

I hope so too!

Wow really nice craft man ship... Lovely post

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LenaDr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Awesome - I love cherry blossoms :) This would have been cool if you would have sanded down the original finish and painted it white or did like a distressed look first before painting the cherry blossom on it.. I really dig it though - I like the mosaic style you used too! Very nice :)

Thanks! I know, I should have spent a lot more time on it. A distressed look would have been awesome!

My hope is that someone saw it and fell in love.

That someone is me! That's awesome! Not perfect to you, but close enough to me… Unfortunately, I don't have a need for a new desk right now.

Well done!

Ha! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51