Paper Mosaic - CrocodilesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Long before toothpick painting, I was drawing mosaics on paper.

The reasons why I drew them instead of actually creating mosaics are many:

I'm too lazy and cheap to buy tiles
I'm way too lazy to cut my own pieces
I had no place to put a mosaic at the time
If I try to grout, I get more in my hair than on the mosaic

But I did have:

an 18"x24" Bristol paper sketch book, markers,
and a plastic stencil set with different sizes of squares.

So starting with an outline, I began to fill in the spaces.

I started with pencil because I'm a control freak,
and then retraced the squares in ink.

After the croc was done, I decided to put him in water.
Because having already spent over 8 hours just wasn't enough torture for me.

Although I was more efficient this time and didn't retrace the squares in ink.

Almost done!
The last thing to do was retrace the squares in ink...
I'd been lazy and skipped it earlier, trying to save time.
But the water squares looked different than the croc squares.
And I just couldn't have that.

And finally, done.
All in all, I think this guy took about 18 hours.

This - along with other paper mosaics which I will post soon -
was a tedious prequel to the even more tedious toothpick painting.

A beginner's course in the art of time-wasting, I suppose.

Thank you for reading!

I hope you enjoyed.
Stay tuned for more paper mosaic installments.

Sort:  

Super cool! Thanks for breaking it down.

Thanks! I usually forget to take "during" photos.

Crocodile is looking fantastic
Very beautiful Art work

Thank you!

That's amazing! I've wanted to create something similar with triangles or even the pi symbol lol. Good work!

Thanks! How would you do it with the pi symbol?

Lol I have no idea but it may look ok.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LenaDr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow, your patience and dedication are impressive! I would never have the patience to do this. Lovely effect!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51