Wednesday Kolam

in #art7 years ago

OK...so...this could get interesting. Yes, you might notice the swasti (proper name for this design) in the center of this kolam (see description in previous post). This is of course a very touchy subject as a totally evil person copyrighted it a few decades back. Let me begin by mentioning that it had been a sacred symbol for THOUSANDS of years before he decided to tarnish (polite word) it with his killing agenda. As soon as I felt myself hesitate to draw this one today for fear of retribution, I knew that I had to do it as almost a protest, like taking a stand for the original sublime intention of the symbol.

It represents the cosmos starting at a center point and spiraling outward like a galaxy and the center point representing whatever form of the absolute (divinity, enlightenment, love, god, peace, etc) works for you. I know there has been a lot of debate about how the above mentioned evil-doer changed the direction of the spiral but in actuality both right and left spirals are seen in India and many other places all over the planet for that matter. The clockwise spiral is much more common as an auspicious invocation for well-being but the counterclockwise one is seen in some of the 'darker' tantric practices... but very rarely.

Years ago I was teaching a kolam class at a Buddhist temple and I was told to erase this design because it would offend people, which I TOTALLY understand but on some other level that means that he won. I feel like the symbol is much bigger than him and should remain so. I find it truly sad that when one types swasti into Google the first definition is a Nazi reference ...booooo! I even have a friend named Swasti, that's how much it is revered, parents name their daughters Swasti as a blessing.

So, with all the best intentions, my dance teacher described this symbol as the kolam drawn on Wednesday to honor the navagraha (planet) Budhan(Mercury). It promotes intelligence and prosperity and brings the blessings of harmonious communication to all.

Sort:  

Congratulations @laurissavibhuti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44