The making of "American Alien" tee shirt featuring work in progress.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, spent all day hand illustrating a tee shirt yesterday.

I wanted to share it here. I made sure to take some screenshots throughout the process so you can see the WIP. :)

Here is final tee mock up:

It started out looking pretty unimpressive:

but bit by bit I added color and texture:

Started cleaning up the linework as I went along:

My aliens started coming to life:

Added some background detail and started on a frame

Unfortunately I did not get many photos of the frame progress as I was pissed off the entire time I was creating it because it wasnt coming out how I had planned.

But here is the finished tee:

In case you hadn't figured it out. I had some famous inspiration for this tee shirt. The American Gothic painting:

Also the alien happen to be made to the likeness of me and my best friend. She is sporting her galaxy bra, chest tattoo, and green hoodie and me my necklace containing Beffy's ashes and my orange hoodie I wear daily. :)

This tee shirt is still under review and not yet available but I do have a few new tee shirts since my past post that are live:

Including this pitbull tee shirt that comes in womens and mens and 5 colors:

And this men and womens tee for archaeologists or archaeology lovers:

Oh and here is a design I finished today:

That last design I shared features some awesome free for commercial use fonts which I got here:

https://printaura.com/top-25-free-commercial-fonts-for-t-shirt-designs/

I will try to share some design freebies when I post. I just love finding high quality free design resources. :D

*So yeah, still been super busy. I am really enjoying using my wacom cintiq and am so happy to have my vitality back. Though, it is admittedly scary and tough starting up a new business. Living the starving artist life as I put all my time and energy into this dream. I feel it will pay off as long as I keep it up though. *

If you want to follow my designs and keep up with my shirts I made a facebook brand page:

https://www.facebook.com/LemonsTeeShirts/

and I have a redbubble:

https://www.redbubble.com/people/lauralemons?asc=u

and an etsy:

https://www.etsy.com/your/shops/lauralemonsart/dashboard?ref=seller_platform_hdr

And I take commissions. :)

Oh and I just started an instagram. LauraLemonsart

Sort:  

LOOOOVe that Alien one! I can't wait for us to grow our businesses.

Thank you! Me either. :D If anyone can do this it is us! ^_^

Great work, read your posts tonite...

Followed.

Thank you so much. :D

OOOOOOO my vote nearly got you over $10 lol, soooo close!

hahahaha!

hehe. YAY. Thanks. :D

Really like what you've done here. Cool stuff!

Thanks a lot! :D Very new to tee shirt design but they keep getting better. ^_^

Brilliant Laura! Keep it up. This post is in queue for @Steemit Social.

Oh wow thanks. ^_^ I am really glad to be back posting here. Such a great community that values art. I will definitely keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97