Freya

in #art7 years ago

freyaboom.jpg

Freya is the norse goddess associated with love, sex, beauty, fertility, gold, magick, war, and death.
As I grew up in Denmark and have been pondering quite a bit about my cultural heritage and trying to find my place in this world. I decided to explore norse mythology in my paintings, and Freya was the first painting I did with this intention.

It was a super immersive experience creating this piece, under the guidance of Daniel Mirante. I felt like I was rediscovering the ancient ruins of Asgaard which I was rebuilding. There where stories playing out on the canvas faster than my mind could keep up, enough inspiration to write books for the rest of my life. I call this painting done now, trying to capture these fleeting stories is an art for sure and I like that it's not all too clear what's going on. This painting still serves as my muse, a space for my mind to reflect, find stories and new narratives.

The creative process is amazing, this painting is but a little snapshot of an ever-changing space full of life. Trying to capture what I experienced and saw is near impossible, but with patience, practice and perseverance I know it's possible.

After this painting I created a few more with similar themes of norse mythology, which I will be sharing soon.

Sort:  

Freya😍
A big fan of norse mythology

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45