Les Miserables: Musical Review- New Zealand

in #art7 years ago (edited)

lesmis-thumbnail-hlive.jpg

There is something about this play that left me amazed.

I have read the book, watched the movie but let me tell you: nor one or the other were so inspiring and full of emotion like the Musical itself.

The Hamilton Operatic Society's performance of Les Misérables was astounding. The actors themselves were amazing.
To pull all that fighting off while singing beautifully is just amazing (let me tell you though, all that falling down on hard ground must leave them with lots of bruises after every show).

When the show was over, it filled me with sadness to see an empty stage...I wanted more, I wanted to watch it all over again.
I was sitting in the front row, looking the characters in the eyes, looking at their faces as they sang their hearts out...it was a play full of emotions.

The New Zealand version of Les Miserables was directed by David Sidwell and it is truly something to appreciate.

The lightning, the costumes, the furniture, everything was beautifully designed and not even once I found myself not taken completely by the play.

The way they moved between scenes was awesome, I couldn't even notice there was a change. For me it was just an endless musical that kept on playing, taking me deeper and the deeper into the story and reality of that time in France.
It really worked as a time machine for me, simply amazing!

The actors themselves were impeccably talented (in both acting and singing):
Kyle Chuen who played the lead role of Jean Valjean has the most beautiful singing voice I have ever heard.
I could feel all the characters emotions through him,
he didn't just play his character: he LIVED it!

Valjean's rival Inspector Javert, portrayed by Cambridge actor Scot Hall, was as wonderful as Kyle Chuen and his deep voice added a great deal to the whole magical music.

The entire cast performed inmpeccably and the whole theatre couldn't help but clap and whistle after every song.
Gwen Lyon and Ben Thomas as Cosette​ and Marius were incredibly cute and Nick Wilkinson and Fiona Bradley as Thenardier​ and his wife were really fun to watch and hear.

If you haven't been to the theatre or opera to watch Les Miserable, you really should because trust me, it will leave you amazed!

Unfortunately the snapping of pictures and recording of audio and videos was forbidden so I will leave you with this youtube video from the movie Les Miserable. It is one of my favourite songs and it is titled: "I dreamed a dream" sung by actress Anne Heathaway.

Sort:  

Wonderful write-up about one of my favorite musicals!!! Anne Hathaway gave a heartfelt performance, but have you ever seen Ruthie Henshall sing it???She played Fantine in the 10th Anniversary Concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London, and it is my favorite one to share with my voice students. It always gives me chills. Hope you enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51