My entry for Drawitbetter Contest 15: Fancy Dewgong

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

So @sirsensei is having a little art contest where this weeks theme is Pokemon. So as a fan of Pokemon I had to enter.

The problem was trying to find a Pokemon to draw because there's like a bajillion of them. XD But since the only ones I really -know- are the original 150 cause I'm old school like that, I decided on Dewgong. I wanted something pretty and water related.

Well apparently in the newer games they made Mega evolutions or versions of a lot of the final forms of most of the original 150. So silly me googled Mega Dewgong and while there was a rather legit looking version of what this Pokemon would look like, it doesn't actually exist. Which I didn't realize until after I finished drawing it. So this Pokemon doesn't actually exist which.. is unfortunate. But the design is pretty so I'm just saying this is a really fancy version of Dewgong.

IMG_6174.JPG

I like how it turned out and I'm not drawing another one. XD So hopefully I can still qualify. If not, well.. here's something pretty to look at. Lol!

Heres my process:

megadewqlines.jpg
First I sketch out the lines. :)

flatcolour.jpg
Then I slap down some flat colour.

baseshade.jpg
And then the basic shading. :)

After that I blend out the shading, adjust the filters, lay out some water highlights and some bubbles to add that whole underwater feeling. It's basically just playing around with shadows and highlights and different fun things that you can do. I know I'm never very good at these tutorial things. XD

What do you think? I think the lesson here is do my Pokemon research before I start drawing all willy nilly. Lol!

Until next time!

-Chelsea

Sort:  

Nice work. Thank you for your entry.
Good luck. :)

Awesome! And good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41