First Completed Copic DrawingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I just stopped by Japan and bought about 300 copic markers. I bought a hand full of these markers in the us for the not so cheap price of 7.99 per marker. My limited color palette made completing a full drawing rather impossible. Now that I have the whole set I'm going to make a real attempt to master this medium.
IMG_20170811_211658428.jpg

Here is my sister @sassysandyg a fellow steemian and world traveler. This image was inspired by the waters on the coast of Ito, Japan.
Along with the style of art being anime-ish. I started with the figure of the charter first trying to apply what I knew about color pencils to markers.

IMG-20170722-WA0005.jpg

I also learned copic markers can sometimes have a runny nose that's when the ink begins to run to freely and rapidly deposits the marker fluid. But I noticed you can actually spot the "the runny noes" before it drips preventing messy accidents like the ones that happen on the leg and shoe. (Btw: I totally just made up the copic marker condition named "runny nose". But the symptom is real.") I then messed around with the water playing with the aqua colors. But I don't just pick colors and force them to match.(Does that ever work with any medium? Oh wait, yeah it does, with digital.). I place a series of color swatches next to each other to make sure they work well together.

IMG_20170811_211752798.jpg

It is worth mentioning copic has already crafted their markers with a built in color system. The tops of the markers (in the sketch series) has a letter and numbers on them that help you find the right color rapidly. The letters will tell you the hue/chroma. B= Blue, BG = Blue Green, V= Violet. The first number will determine the saturation 1-9, one being more saturated and 9 being more transparent. The second digit will show you the darkness of the color.
IMG_20170811_230639956.jpg
That's right this jumbled mess of markets has an elaborate and organized system for you the artist. Example: So a B23, B24, and B28 go to a bar... (No). Because B24 is closer in numeric value to B23 then it will harmonize/ blend better than the B28.
IMG_20170811_232231.jpg
So your brain will begin to see these codes as an easy way of picking out midtones, shadows and highlights.

Sort:  

You are so damn talented! Seriously I love your work and am so happy you are finally starting to share it with the world. (Btw, I miss my tan).

Have a smug upvote.
Banner

Hey I've seen you around! Have an upvote for all your hard work smug-chan.

Beautiful!

Thanks for stopping by.

Those Copic markers are expensive! Especially if it has the tendency to have a runny nose, lol! I was in Tokyo last month and I wasn't able to buy any souvenir but KitKat matcha chocolates lol. I can't wait to see what you will do with those markers! You have an awesome Sunday @ladygray! :-D

Yeaaahhh bought a ton of markers and other stuff in Japan wish I could of got these tax free! Would have saved about 8000 yen. Thanks for stopping by!

I think if you show your foreign passport they will give you a discount. But I'm not entirely sure if it applies for most stores in Japan. :-)

Wow awesome
Ilike it, upped and follow you i hope you follback😁

Wow! great art @ladygray! The shading and blending look awesome.. ^^ and yeah.. Copic markers are costly... it's difficult for me to even buy one.. lol...

Congratulations @ladygray! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56