Outing Myself // Revealing My Workstation

in #art6 years ago

I've seen several posts from the various and wonderfully talented artists of Steemit that reveal pictures of their work studio. They're always so lovely and neat, usually in a room filled with plenty of windows overlooking pretty scenery.

Once whilst browsing my Twitter feed, there was a tweet challenging artists to take pictures of their workspace as is and I thought, "oh boy..." and felt personally attacked.

My workspace...well, it's quite embarrassing. I think give the impression to others that I'm a very neat and put-together person and with share spaces (bathroom, kitchen, etc.), I like to keep things very tidy. But with my own space, such as my bedroom/"art studio", its kind of chaotic.

So here we go; for all of your enjoyment I'm going to reveal the horror that is my work desk.

How I Work

My work Station.jpg

I don't have any proper filing system so my desk quickly accumulates with papers of varying importance, from "probably could get thrown out" to "this deserves a filing cabinet".

I am a soda-fiend and when I look to the left of my laptop, I'm constantly confronted with my "corner of shame". One side of my desk is occupied with all the diet cokes I consume. I'll recycle them eventually, but god knows it'll only happen once I accumulate an obscene amount of cans. I'm kind of an asshole to myself; my favorite motto is to let future Theresa deal with things.

Being vertically challenged, my feet don't comfortably rest on the floor while I'm sitting. I didn't own a foot rest so I repurposed a useless (to me) tub of gesso that my freshman year painting teacher forced our class to buy (I hate painting and have not picked up a canvas since then).

And lastly, for those curious, the action figures include:

  • All four hobbits from the Lord of the Rings
  • Billy the Puppet (Saw), Jason Voorhees (Friday the 13th), Freddy Krueger, Ghostface (Scream), Chucky, & Sam (Trick R Treat)
  • Zoro from One Piece

This sketch is a much, much more tame version of the actual reality of the monstrously cluttered desk I work at. But in my efforts to doodle more, I thought it might be fun and a bit cathartic to document what it's like where I work.

End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

Hehheehe you are a brave woman, showing your workplace. But looking at it, I don't think it's too bad, maybe because I have similar arrangement with the leftover food and drinks XD.

Hahah, thank you XD It's pretty bad; it probably only looks passable becuase I was too lazy to draw every single useless thing I have sprwaled about my desk.

I totally understand. I have stash of junk food and bottles in my desk that I dub them as "Emergency Food Rations" and other stuff that I should organise or dump but somehow they become permanent resident of the table.

my workstation is similar... very messy. not lovely like those other artists' ones that you mentioned... hahaha i am not proud of my workstation... . __ .;;;; i love that you drew yours though ! it really gives a little window to peek at you <3

also doggo <3 <3 <3

i loves 'em <3

Sometimes my dog gets upset that I'm working instead of playing with her, so she'll climb up onto my lap. She's not a small dog haha

omg i can relate so much... my dog also does this and then i have to draw whilst she's on my lap and it's super hard and then i get chaffed and im like PLS HALP ; __ ;

but they bring so much joy and warmth to our lives, dont they * ___ *

my doggo is also girl doggo :D she is ...2 years old !

Dogs are too good and I don't know what we humans did as a species to deserve them. What kind of dog do you have?? We adopted ours, so we don't know for sure but we think she's around 2 or 3.

she is a mittelspitz, and im at work so i dont have a handy photo on me, but she looks like this... but dark chocolate in colours:

She's like a huge pomeranian or a small german shepherd, i guess? XD Around 10 kilo of weight, and not as fluffy as the pomeranian, more like slightly long haired german shepherd :)

what kind is yours? our first doggo was adopted but he has passed away last year, he had a heart condition.... i hope yours is well and healthy <3

and yes, they are too good and so full with love... i thank them daily for sharing their beautiful souls with me * ___ *

Oh I've never seen that type of doggo before! So majestic. And sorry to hear that, it's so hard losing a dog :(

This is my bean puppy. We think she's a pit mix, she's the sweetest thing ever.

beani pupperino is so precious <3 omg <3 i love her * ___ * she has beauuuuuuutiful eyes and the colour is very similar to my doggo XD.... i will take piccar later at home and show you <3

pls send hugs to beanie puppo~

Even though I am lucky to have a lovely view from my studio window, the space itself is rather a mess. I think it's part of being an artist. I call it 'organized chaos'. To the naked eye, it's a mess, but I know where things go and I put them back even if 'putting it back' means in a pile on my drawing table! :)

Right?? It may look like a mess, but there's a system I swear!

i think a lot of artist in reality can relate to this xD
sadly my windows is not in front but specially behind me, though i have a mirror in front (don't as why) so maybe the reflected view is not that bad? :p

and with the mess... well, this one is my bed right now xD

those paints go to the table at the night and then come back to the bed when i have to work in my studio ^^'
we should learn how to clean our rooms (art studio) at least once a week 😂
btw, the can as a foot rest was a good idea 😊

This post has definitely made me realize that a lot of people relate, which is always nice to know. It's good to know I'm not the only one! I also have a mirror on my desk; I use it to pose so I can draw faces, expressions, hands, and what not at certain angles. Very handy to have around.

Love it! I do that do. Constantly shift things to my bed when I work, then put it all back on my desk when I need to sleep. It's an effective strategy XD

where i work look almost like that but i enjoying doing it on my bed as i am typing this reply i am doing it from my bed just that i don't take anything when doing my work because it makes me feel dizzy

What a great way to show off your workspace... I love the illustration! I’ve shown photos of mine before... but of course I took them when it was freshly cleaned and ”presentation ready”. Overall though, I do keep down the clutter... not really from personal preference... (I can be untidy) it’s more to keep the place “cat proof” and minimize conflict with my two little guys. Fellow soda fiend as well, I totally get the guilty can pile.

Off topic, did @drwatson reach out to you yet about a potential Steemian meetup this Friday or Saturday? I contacted him direct and was curious about you twos availability and possible “travel radius” those days.

Thank you! Yeah, I only tidy my space when the planets align and the moon is in the ninth house.

And no, he hasn't mentioned anything. Unfortunately, I don't think I'll be available, my friend is visiting me for the weekend. Possibly Friday if it's early in the day, so keep me posted!

Hello @la-fumettista, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50