Nostalgia or Pure Awesomeness?

in #art6 years ago

Sometimes nostalgia can warp your memory, making things you loved in your youth seem infinitely better in your mind they are in reality. How many times do you find yourself claiming that TV shows/movies from the past are so much better than the crap that's out now? Is that really the case though? The nostalgia goggles can really cloud your judgment. And when my friend and I decided to rewatch an old favorite anime of ours, I was very concerned that it was not going to be as good as I remembered it...

Well. I'm here to proudly announce that Baccano! is just as entertaining, well-animated, and filled to the brim with badass characters as I remember. Not only did it amount to everything I had hyped it up to be in my memory, but it surpassed those expectations. It's such an intricate anime that I found myself noticing things that completely flew over highschool Theresa's head so it was possibly even more enjoyable this time around.

This anime came out in 2007, eleven years ago, and the animation still holds up to today. Both the art style and the fluidity of the animation stand up to the anime that coming out now.

And don't even get me started on the soundtrack.

If you haven't already seen it, I highly recommend you go check it out.

Miria_Isaac.jpg

This anime works with an ensemble cast and masterfully gets you to care about most if not all of the characters it bombards you with. It also has so many awesome female characters, some of which I didn't even appreciate until I watched it this last time.

The characters I drew above are Isaac and Miria, the Bonnie & Clyde of the show... only if Bonnie & Clyde were a bunch of goofballs who wore crazy costumes during their heists and did things like attempt to steal time by taking people's watches. Everything that comes out of these characters' mouths had me laughing like an idiot.

I'll probably draw more characters from the show, as there seems to be no end to my favorites, and part of me wants to have them all performing the various dances of the time the show takes place in (1930s ish). We shall see.

Anyways, if there is anything you take away from tonight's post it's that you need to stop what you're doing right now and go enjoy this anime.

End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

Hands up for those who spotted this from the #steemartists discord!

Thanks for sharing the series and your thoughts on it. Convinces me to watch it!

Yassss, then my work here is done XD

Oh i've never seen this anime :D Thanks for the review, Theresa, I might pick it up :> The picture is lovely, as always. Fluid body language and nice, clean colouring <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I hear good things about this anime often but I haven't watched it yet. I like the expressive poses of these two, their joyful emotions here are conveyed really well. Lovely art, Theresa :).

-upvoted-

Hello @la-fumettista, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70