First Steemit Post | Inktober Drawings

in #art7 years ago (edited)

For the past four years, I've always attempted to participate in Inktober and usually end up completing a handful of drawings. This year I really buckled down, committed to the cause, and drew nearly half of all the drawing I was supposed to! Maybe next year I'll make my way up to two thirds but no promises.

Even though Inktober and the wonderful month of Halloween are over, I thought it'd be nice to share all of the drawings I've made this past month for my first post on Steemit. So without further ado...

My Inktober Drawings

Day_1.png

Day 1 - Maybe she's born with it; maybe it's Maybeline.

Day_2.jpg

Day 2 was from one of the various prompt lists floating around the Internet; the theme was vampires. I have a habit of drawing at least one Victorian-esque woman for Inktober and day 2 was one of those days.

Day_3.jpg

Day 3 I drew Sam from Trick R Treat; it's one of my favorite horror movies and I watch it every year to get into the Halloween spirit.

Day_4.jpg

I believe this one was another prompt list one and the theme was "garden witch".

Day_5b.jpg

Day 5 was a particularly hard day for me, I had been drawing for 10 hours straight for work and realized I still needed to do any inktober for the day so I stuck with something simple.

Day_6.jpg

This was probably the least favorite of the drawings I did. I think it the composition was really meant for a more rectangular canvas size but I was sticking to a square shape for easy Instagram sharing (catch ya girl at @la.fumettista)

Day_7.jpg

For all you 90s kids, Day 7 was the Sanderson Sisters from the equally terrible and awesome Hocus Pocus. With the number of times the main characters gets made fun of for being a virgin, it's hard to believe Hocus Pocus was a Disney movie.

Day_8.jpg

This one was another prompt - skeleton. And I was inspired by a variety of Danse Macabre illustrations.

This beauty is the demon from The Conjuring 2, a movie monster that still gives me nightmares.

Day_11.jpg

Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride are also two movies I try to watch every year before Halloween; Day 11 was Sally and Emily (I think her name is Emily) drinking tea as I imagine they do quite often.

Day_12.jpg

So I was a HUGE fan of the recent It movie and completely loved/was terrified by Pennywise. Naturally, I had to honor his creepiness for Day 12 of Inktober.

Day_13.jpg

Peek - A - Boo! I love a lot of Guillermo Del Toro's films, especially Pan's Labyrinth. This drawing is of the creepy eye dude who almost east Ofelia.

Day 26.jpg

I don't know why, but I've always had a special place in my heart for Pyramid Head from Silent Hill so I had to draw. My Instagram caption was: "Get yourself a man like Pyramid Head".

Day 31.jpg

The last drawing I posted was Nancy from The Craft. This movie had been on my "watch" list for a while now and this Halloween I finally got around to watching it. I surprisingly enjoyed it... a lot. Was it the best movie? No. But I'd probably watch it again. I learned a valuable lesson too; the darker the lipstick and bigger the hair, the more powerful of a witch you become.

Thanks for sticking to the end!

I don't know how often I'll be posting on Steemit. I work as a part-time graphic designer and the other part of the time, I do freelance cartooning and illustration. I've been working on a Lovecraftian comic series written by @drwatson along with a couple of other projects so I'll most likely be posting about that.

You can find me at the following if you'd like to see what recent art I've been working on:
Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Until next time 👋 #ArtistOfSteemit

Sort:  

Really good - hope to see more from you in future! :)

Welcome to Steemit of you! Glad to have you on Steemit. Continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome

Welcome to Steem Community @la-fumettista! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations on your first post! I’d suggest making the ‘introduceyourself’ tag you very first tag for more exposure and adding a picture of yourself holding your username with date for verification. Your stuff looks incredible and I’m really digging your style! Can’t wait to see a future post from you! :)

Thank you for the advice and feedback :)

Welcome to steemit, @la-fumettista!! I've been following @drwatson for some time now, I'm so glad you are here too now.

Love your Inktober work! I'm really looking forward to seeing your upcoming posts. Take care ☺

Aww thanks! @drwatson has done such an amazing job promoting the series we're working on together and definitely inspired me to make this account.

The Conjuring was definitely the scariest!

hello and welcome to steemit family
upvoted :)
have nice day and feel free to follow me :)

Welcome! Really cool photos, you are talented. Look forward to more!

Thank you so much :)

wow,

hello!
Those are some reallllyyyyyy impressive drawings there! I m speechless! :)
Compliments all over the article!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46