Drawing till I drop // Drawn To Key West

in #art6 years ago

After another long day of not-knowing-how-to-pace-yourself, I finally finished, or at least semi-finished, the lineart for this monstrosity.

Map_Of_Key_West_lowres.jpg

In this post I mentioned I was working on a map of Mallory Square in Key West. That was nearly two months ago and I had not touched that sketch since. But, having recently come back from my wonderful trip to Key West with a new rush of enthusiasm and inspiration for my project, I decided to spend a whole day inking the dang thing. Because that's healthy, right? One of these days I'll learn how to pace myself...

Just for a quick recap, here is where I last left off with the sketch:

Map_Of_Key_West.jpg

I got down all of the buildings and the basic shapes of the people and street performers I wanted to draw and then went straight to the inking part! Because I have no patience in drawing things multiple times.

The first picture in this post is the piece in its entirety but it's a rather large illustration (10x16) so I'm going to break it down into two pieces so you'll be able to see the detail better.

Map_Of_Key_West-1.jpg

The concept is that it's an overview of Mallory Square, the hub of Key West where the Sunset Celebration takes place every evening, while showing me and my family throughout the years (see red outlined figures).

Map_Of_Key_West-2.jpg

I may have snuck in some characters that may or may not resemble characters from various TV shows to help maintain my sanity but I'm not sure if these screenshots are detailed enough for you to catch them. Let me know if you see any!

I'll eventually add some more detail to the buildings, maybe beef up some of the crowds, and color it but for now I'm putting this map to rest.

End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

oh theresa ! amazing work! so many details * ___ * i remember commenting on the sketch version.... was that 2 months ago now :O

love your stuff, @la-fumettista! always so beautifully crafted <3 all the elements are so well considered and all the details are incredibly appropriate !!! look at each person in this piece ! it's amazing !!

Beautiful artwork. You are a very talented girl!

I found a Rick and Morty! I didn't think they would visit Key West of all places...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75