A distant mentor...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

As I was working my way through my art career, the artists that affected me the most was Salvatore Dali. (I preferred the art of Van Gogh, Picasso and others more), yet I was drawn into Dali's world.

I own some of his works, have read and studied him, visited his home in Figuras, Spain and visited many a gallery devoted to or holding Dali's works.

This was a poem for my bachelors degree, it was supposed to be a term paper, but as Dali twisted everything he did, so too was I compelled and risked turning in a poem of him. The poem received an A but the Professor had a problem with me stating I did not do the assignment... I said that "Dali would himself had done something far more bizarre", the departure from the professors reality was in fact surreal and therefore an accepted argument.

Here is the poem:

Dali… “Paranoic Critical” 1980

I live,
I am, controlled delirium,
Paranoia,
Domination, exaltation, consciousness
of mind.
Genius, of double
reality, irrationality,
dynamic opposites.
Boundaries, continually overthrown
thought structures.
Megalomaniacal cannibalism,
frenzied, softening
for edibility.
Paranoiac delirium is, Surrealism
is he.
Irrationalities, fears
depicted, expressed
reality, his
cosmic soul,
Magnification of,
the world.
He is, cannibalistic,
everything is
edible, awareness
by jaws.
Obsession, eat
eat, everything
transforms, awareness
to gourmandism to,
awareness, his
world.
Religion, his
to swallow, the living god
to swallow him.
Materialism, intense
passions, anxieties devouring,
he lives, to devour.
He is, a formulation
reversed;
eat die,
die eat.
Death is, he
revels, devours
and is devoured.
Surrealism is erotic,
love, eat, make
edible.
Surrealists are, quality food,
eat us.
Fixation, obsession of
mouth, orality.
Through the body
neurotic, dislocated, rebuilt
completely, suiting his mind.
Subjection, his
inner self, being, external
influences revised, psychotic
projections of, the world,
soft, hard body of
flesh, bone.
Extraction of, hardness
slips, from Dali.

Image Credit: Top biography.com, others are random web posts of Dali's works.

Good Health - Evan Pantazi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52