You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Taught Myself to Draw - Are Artists Born Gifted?

in #art6 years ago

What a great composition! It describes exactly what I experienced too, when I was starting to learn how to draw at the age of four (in 1974).

In my case, I was influenced by an uncle who would draw Superman and other superheroes for me and my sister.

I just picked up a pencil and started drawing on paper, that's what my Mom told me. It was like automatic.

I'd just draw and draw anything, and everything interesting I saw. My uncle did not even need to teach me. He just left me alone to do things on my own.

I learned at my own pace, and there was no rush to get better right away, like what I see with most kids nowadays.

Most of the kids I see want to get into realistic portraiture right away, eschewing the learning of basic drawing to learn how to use a grid for accurate copying of pictures.

A lot of them end up becoming too dependent on grids that they don't bother to learn freehand drawing anymore.

I'm a freehand artist, and have been one ever since. And in 1998 I entered the animation industry and became a traditional animator. I did that job until 2003, and then I switched to 3D animation in 2005.

Here's a colored pencil drawing of a wolf that I made back in 1996, before I became an animator.

And a portrait of a friend I drew last year.

Sort:  

Your art is very beautiful. I'm glad you were inspired by your uncle. Just amazing. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74