"Get inked or die naked."

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Tattoos are no longer a taboo at the workplace. Although there are some companies that don't hire people with tattoos, a lot of businesses are just satisfied with the tattoos being hidden under long sleeves and long pants. They are slowly getting accepted by the society nowadays. It is accepted as a form of art and not just the marks of a lowlife.


How I viewed Tattoos

When I was younger I thought you could only get a tattoo in prison. (My young mind!) However, I was amazed when I saw my cousin creating a tattoo machine from the dynamo of some appliance, ink of a pen and electrical tapes. (I'm not sure if he used needles.) He inked himself. It was a rose. I thought it will fade away after sometime. He was in high school, after all. But then, it didn't. Right then and there, I thought tattoos are dirty. I like seeing them on other people but I don't like them on me.

I started liking tattoos after watching the Korean movie, "Arahan". I thought the dragon tattoo at the hero's back was so awesome. I wanted to get one. I liked the idea that the dragon's tail wrapped my arms. My view about tattoos changed when I learned that some people had great stories behind their marks. I started admiring tattoos.


My Inks

I was 19 years old when I first got my tattoo. My artist, Louie Balanay, gave it to me as a birthday gift.

"Cogito ergo sum"

This Latin phrase means "I think; therefore I am". It's a statement by the seventeenth-century French philosopher René Descartes. He concluded that there is no doubt on the fact that we exist. For me, it simply means that I can be whatever and whoever I wanted to be if I just put my mind to it. I think I'm beautiful, therefore I am. I think I am a leader, therefore I am leader. Mind over matter.

It was inked on my left rib cage just below my bust. I chose to get tattooed there because I wanted to hide it. I originally thought of putting it at my pelvis but I changed my mind when I saw that the session will be done in an open space. I can still remember the mixed emotions I felt before it started. I was really excited but nervous and scared at the same time. I was actually having second thoughts. But a deep breath, a lot of courage and a little bit of "Bahala na!" did the trick.


Cogito ergo sum Ambigram
(Credits to Arnold Danseco)

I got my second tattoo when I went to Kalinga. It was a batok. Batok is the Kalinga's local term for tattooing and it uses 'gisi', a bamboo stick and a thorn. I got inked by the Last Mambabatok of Butbut Tribe, Apo Whang Od in Buscalan. Apo Whang Od, in her mid-90s still practices the craft. She really is a living legend.


Traditional hand tapping technique

"Crabeller"

I always loved travelling. I would rather travel than buy expensive gadgets. Speak different languages. Live unique cultures (even for a day or two). Eating a lot of cuisines. Drink various beverages. Appreciate scenic views and try anything out of the box. These are some of my life goals. That's why I got a tattoo meaning traveler. I want to be constantly reminded that it's better to have more experiences than material things. It's called 'Crabeller' because some said it looks like a crab. Some may see crab but sometimes I can see a roach.


Crabeller
(Credits to Louchiel Lariosa)

I thought my first tattoo was painful. I felt the needles on my skin. However, the second one is much more painful. Maybe it's because Apo is already old and can't control the strength she gives in every tap of the gisi. But others said, it should be the other way around. Tattoo by machine should be more painful than the traditional one. Either way, I don't regret getting them.


Message to the Reader

Thank you for making it till the end. I hope you loved it. How do you view people with tattoos? I'd like to know your opinions. Comment on the section below and don't forget to upvote this post.

“Wear your heart on your skin in this life.”
― Sylvia Plath


Image Sources: 1

Sort:  

the traditional tattoo gives another feeling i think, great post!

Kriziiaaaaa congraaaats! n.n

Thank you Jyyyy! 😊😊😊

Uy ngayon ko lang ang nalaman tungkol sa first tattoo mo kriz. Kakaiba talaga :)

@hulkbuster Waaaah. Tago kasi talaga. Di nakikita. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84