You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: School Learning Or Self-Teaching ?

in #art7 years ago

First of all I agree that when picking school do the research. But when I was an underage teen I had limited options to begin with, had to pick uni in Zg (Croatia), because my family had apartment there. I wanted to take a year break after highschool, but I wasn't allowed, because of finances I guess. I had skipped a grade in middle school so I just turned 18 before uni and was among youngest there.

In highschool I learned drawing still life, which has been helpful to do studies. I feel that I learned more in highschool than 2 years uni. Thankfully the university was public/free. After the second year I had enough and I quit art restoration ( I was told by many I won't have work if I just study art).

A teacher once told us: better lose one year and quit the uni then lose your whole life studying and working what you don't want. In my case it was 2 years, but I did learn a few useful things: like to use stronger/thicker colors and that I somehow naturally do paintings based on golden ratio.
I don't regret anything, going to uni or quitting it. Thankfully after quitting, my parents supported me for a year, even though they were distraught that I quit. This is when I self taught myself digital art, and pixel art for the whole year, before moving out.

I have been extremely lucky so far, but I also work every day and spend money carefully. Some people simply prefer to have social life, more boring but stable work and extra money to spend. However, I felt like I was losing my mind around unmotivated and lazy people, harsh but I doubt any of them use social media for art or anything other than selfies.

There are some people from different university section: the animation, who are more open minded and ready to do extra self improvement/ learning in their free time, but even those people are rare.

As for my team we do occasional take longer breaks like during holidays or if we feel burned out. But otherwise we always try to do something useful, including trying out new things like Steemit/crypto :)

Sort:  

Wow, my comment is almost as long as the post :D haha Sorry just couldn't stop writing :P

lol, my comments are often post-long... my new strategy, make a post from a comment! :D

Thanks for your input !

I understand there are lazy, uninterested people and I think surrounding yourself with likeminded, striving ad motivated people is helping you achieve great goals faster and more easily. But at the same time, many students are hanging around such peeps for lack of better choice, or because these are funny guys etc. And the only thing they need is an extra little push to drive them forward. I mean, art school can be huuugely expensive, and the one I was at, some were bleeding their way to the top, but some were just chilling out, coming to class whenever they wanted or even no researching and working the extra hours. And when you spend your time among the not so art driven people there, you can think it is normal for you and working already 80h per week for school and homeworks is enough. And thus, relying exclusively upon school teachers to get you a ...life.

And I like that you bring thee steemit crypto world as I think curiosity is what makes or break an artist (or anyone really). The more you test things and experiment the bigger your visual and non-visual (knowledge/XP ?) library is, and interesting your art can be. But this comes alongside school and not in the classrooms I believe ^^

Yeah, we cannot undo past things, but we certainly can learn from them ^^ And getting to know yourself is crucial sort of, and not giving up on things you love even if they may seem silly to others, for me it's my huge children's/YA fantasy books haha :D
Also the uni I went to had maybe 40h per week work first two years. The third year it would have been 80h and I realized I wouldn't have free time and energy to do what I love :) The minimum was 5 years for any sort of diploma so I wasn't even half done.

Yes totally agree, what do you mean by YA?

" not giving up on things you love even if they may seem silly to others" That's the most important thing I think, most all of my friends from highschool gave up on their dreams because "too difficult" or because they failed the 1st year of university. And that mentality is a waste of talent for me =/.

Yup.
Ya stands for young adult usually teens :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44