Mountain Painting- A Photo Study

in #art6 years ago (edited)

1J.jpg

A beautiful tranquil mountain scene- I was instantly inspired to do a painting study when I saw a photo while browsing Pinterest. The drawing in the post are my own, based on a photo linked right below.

This is Dolomite Mountains in Italy and you can see the photo here: https://mymodernmet.com/dolomites-the-most-beautiful-trek-in-the-world/. The photo is by Angelo Ferraris and I recommend check out his other photos here: https://500px.com/famigliaferraris !
The photo is so amazing, that it's all over internet, so it took me a while to find the source. I'm not sharing the photo here so you go and click the original :)

1A.jpg

This is my first detailed digital painting in months. I got used to working with 2 monitors when I was working on the laptop. Since switching to a PC with only one monitor I haven't done almost any digital art, only pixelart. This was because I loved keeping my references on a separate monitor from my painting. Now I realize that this was just an excuse not to try, as I had no trouble yesterday painting.

1H.jpg

When doing a study it's important to stay attentive and not paint on autopilot, because tine is precious. You can learn a lot more if you pay attention to details. Also when doing this study I decided to try out some new techniques and to make the painting somewhat stylized not hyper realistic.

First I started with a simple value pass, which means a rough layer of base colors to set the atmosphere and composition. This is a very quick step, but very important. This is because if you do details right from the start it may be very difficult to make the painting look unified and not blotchy.

1G.jpg

After additional rough details I used a mixer brush to blend all of the colors together. The result makes everything look very blurry, but it's a great base for details. This is something new I learned from watching various tutorials. I feel that it helped me a lot and I plan to use it in the future.

1F.jpg

The details were really fun to draw. I used short strokes to define the shapes and lighting. Moreover the final details can take as long as the all previous steps combined. However, it's good to make a work stand out in some way, whether is be details, lighting or composition.

1D.jpg

I don't color pick colors from the reference, because guessing the right colors is fun. We often see colors differently from what they really are, because of the neighbouring colors. For example, in this painting the mountains appear to have some yelow in the light areas. However, it's mostly grays being contrasted with deep blues. Guessing the right colors gets much easier with practice.

1E.jpg

For this study I worked on only 2 layers- the ground and the sky behind it. In general for studies I stick to minimum layers, because this is saves me a lot of time and makes the painting look unified more easily. The brush for studies also doesn't matter, often a simpler brush is better. I feel that textured brushes are nice for finishing touches.

1C.jpg

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see more like this in particular, please resteem to help it reach more people!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Can I upvote you several times? ^.^
All I can say - gorgeous, @kristyglas! <3<3<3

Aww, thank you so much <333333

👍Nice!!
Actually I don't have much idea of using layers... mainly masking, smart object... I always forget to change layers and mess all things up... end up with merge everything and just like drawing on a real paper😵Want to use layers more smart to help me work more efficiently TT

Thanks :D
Layers are great for specific things. When I started naming layers, it got much easier to use them. However, the most useful thing was set the settings (I forgot how) so whdn you have move tool, you click another key together and it automatically takes you to the layer you are clicking.
Start with less layers for a while like just three, to get used to it. Some artists use a new layer to test something so they can color adjust it or transform. When they are happy with it they simply merge it ^^

I like the detail in the bottom of the art, where the road start :)

Thank you :)
I was goinng to make whole painting like that, but it somehow made the painting feel flat. So I left it more blurry for the back.

that was also a good toch there, it does give some perspective and depth

🎉 Congratulations @kristyglas! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Thank you very much! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76