Setting time limits is so helpful!

in #art6 years ago

I gave myself an hour to paint this lovely cow I met in India. Forcing myself to work quicker than I usually would is something I really need to do more often, as in this case I was pleasantly surprised by how I could just get on with it without worrying too much about the outcome. As a learner (who considers herself to have no idea what she is doing), it is so easy to get hung up on how things are going to turn out, and overthink the process. So many pieces get started, but ultimately abandoned once I have talked myself into believing I'm not 'doing it right'.

And you know what? I've had enough of that! :) This year I vow to make as much work as I can, and take most of it to completion. No matter how it ends up looking! I am determined to make this a big year in terms of practice and gaining confidence, and the best way to go seems to be just do, do, do. So I plan to do this challenge more often, and paint something every single day.

How do you push yourself to keep improving? :)

Sort:  

This is real nice, I needa set more time limits on my artwork.. I always get stuck on one piece for so long >.<

it's a great challenge! checked out your work and it's great :) have followed you!

Thank!! Means a lot :D

That's fantastic for an hour! I know a lot of artists on Steemit who set time limits and I'm like "How??" when I see the final product. I think having that constraint helps you focus your energy.

thanks Caleb! yes, nothing like a bit of pressure to get the work done! 😀

I like this piece a lot. It has a good sense of form, great contrast, and a good level of detail for a quick rendering. I experiment with watercolor sometimes, but always find it very challenging and confusing. They always feel like failures, and only later do they sometimes feel... just ok! Great work.

Thanks a lot Mr Somebody! Very kind feedback. I also find watercolour very confusing. This I painted in gouache, which is also a mystery to me but slightly less intimidating! Checked out your blog and going to give you a follow, great to meet other artists on steemit! :)

This is great!

thanks for the kind words! :D

To set a time limit for work is a very great idea because we got less distracted this way and really can focus our energy only one one thing. That is great that is world so well for you! Thank you for sharing ❤

it's so true! a great way to cut through all the distraction :)

I like it! I can imagine it right in front of me. I like how you captured the cow's expression.

thanks Wilfred, very kind as always! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51