Green Eyed Girl ( Digital Art and Process)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Fellow Steemians!

Today I want to show you guys something I made around 3 years ago, this piece was my very first detailed Digital art. I was new to photoshop and was still clueless about the various tools and techniques, hence this piece took me about a week to complete. Ofcourse, If i were to recreate this today, I'd be able to achieve something similar within half a day.

girl burn and dodge wuth sign (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)final.jpg

Huge eyes, I know. I was crazy about anime back then. :P Who am I kidding, I still am, just not as much.

To be honest, I don't really remember the process that well, but I'll try my best to explain, there are going to be ALOT of images. Reference was taken to create this piece. I would have put it up as well, but I seem to have lost it. I'll update the post as soon as I find it.

UPDATE: Thanks to melooo182 I have found the reference that was used. The original's artist is Ilya Kushnikov

Reference:

U5dquu5ET5UHEB3vQuZicNEXDHj3eaZ_1680x8400.jpg

Process:

As usual, I began with rough sketches, but I decided to skip those steps and start by showing you the final sketch.

girl1.jpg

I figured out what colours I wanted to use and used base colours for the skin, clothing and eyes.

girl 2.jpg

Now my goal is to keep adding to the colouring to create a sense of volume. A 3D feel, if you will.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)3.jpg

I decided to work on the eyes. So first a light base colour for the pupils and black eyelashes.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)4.jpg

Added shades and highlights to try and give life to the eyes.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)5.jpg

Added details on the pupils and coloured the eyelids and drew the eyebrows.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)6.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)7.jpg

So I used the same technique throughout. Base colour, shades and tints, shadows and highlights all to create an illusion of volume.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)8.jpg

Time to work on the lips, similar technique, added base colour, built on it by adding shades and tints and adding highlights.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)9.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)10.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)11.jpg

Now time to build on her skin.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)12.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)13.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)14.jpg

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)15.jpg

Added highlights to her hair.

girl (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)16.jpg

Used the dodge and burn tools to better define the shadows and highlights.

girl burn and dodge wuth sign (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)17.jpg

Added minor details, increased vibrancy and brightness and VOILA!

girl burn and dodge wuth sign (2015_06_27 11_03_54 UTC)final.jpg

And that is the final Image. What do you think? Let me know in the comments below. :)

If you liked what you just saw please upvote this post, and click follow!
Help a young artist on Steemit.

If you'd like to follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/krishnendu_kj/

Have a great day!

DQmeVCv1Rz2YZ5w6QCgJhb2Cvrm5E9R2RB5xnVv36cE92pU.png

Sort:  

Nice one!!
kinda reminds me those Ilya Kushnikov drawings
specifically this one:

https://kuvshinov-ilya.deviantart.com/art/Koi-Nobori-522201724

Now you can update your post with the reference
It's ok doing Art Studies from pieces from other artists, your's looks quite good, but should perhaps be more careful with the references part
(self upvoted for visibility)

YES!! That's the one!! Thank you! I shall update shortly. I am careful references now, If you see my other posts, this was made during a time when I didn't think it was important. Thanks again!

agreed. feels very Stolen now that i see this. wow

I have very clearly written in my post that I had taken reference. Taking reference isn't a crime.

wow man, wow.... yea if you were in hollywood here trying to get a job in effects and found this you for sure wouldnt get the job. wow...

Well done, You seem on the opposite side of the spectrum from me though. Your illustrative (Visual) abilities are something I wish I had for myself. Something that I can never have.

Now before you say that I can do what you do, I need to make a very important statement. I am numbers. When I sit with a programmatically problem, Artificial intelligence. Game Development, Web Development. I kill it. That is my place. I found my calling. At the same time throughout my walk in life I needed people like you.

That is why I said I wish I had the abilities / skills that you had. Many times when I sit with the visual side of things its a struggle. I just don't see it. I am following your blog. Maybe I pick up some small hints that improves my very limited graphical skills.

Haha, I won't say you can do what I do.(even though I'm sure you could improve with practice :P) Everybody has their own set of abilities and roles. If everybody could do everything, people wouldn't need each other, now would they? And I'm glad you are happy with what you do, that is what is most important.

I'm glad you like my work, I appreciate your support. :)

amazing work even though it was 3 years ago. so talented.
the ability to picture light in varying shades is a talent, I simply cant draw or shade even if my life depended on it.. congratulations on an excellent post.

Thank you so much. They key is practice , my friend. :)

Very Pretty!! I wish I knew how to draw. I love digital art. Do you have to know how to draw? I just wanted to share how amazing I think your art is.

SMALL ICON-01.png

Wishing you much-continued​ success on Steemit!!!

VIRTUAL HUGS, CYBERNATED SMILES, AND DIGITAL LOVE

🎀 @theprettysoul🎀

My other social media platforms and website
https://www.theprettysoul.com
https://steemit.com/@theprettysoul
https://twitter.com/theprettysouls
https://prettysoulmafia.tumblr.com
https://www.pinterest.com/theprettysoul
https://www.instagram.com/theprettysoul/
https://www.instagram.com/prettysoulmafia/
https://www.facebook.com/PrettySoulMafia

wow..just wow <3

I'm in love

haha, Thank you :)

Thank you so much. :) Yes you do need to know how to draw. And you can definitely learn, just practice sketching everyday :)

Another great piece. It is a good gauge of how far you have come in three years. Even knowing very little about Photoshop you still nailed it. The eyes and lips are so vibrant and beautiful in the final piece that they just jump out at you.

I think it would be cool to see more of your work from when you were obsessed with Anime. Mixed in with the comic cons we do are a couple of Anime conventions and I am always amazed at some of the art we see there even though I am not really an Anime fan and know very little about it.

Thank you so much. You have been very encouraging from the start. I really appreciate your efforts in making my work more visible to steemians.

You're very welcome. You definitely deserve it. Hopefully this will grab some people viewing those trending lists who become followers.

Very nice... 💟. Hope you like my art too 😊💟

Thank you! I checked your art, Love the water colour paintings, I'll have a good look at all your posts when I get free time. :)

congratulation's @krishnendukj, happy for you, well deserve to spotted by the curie team...😊

Thank you SO much @sweetcha, but I couldn't have done it without everybody's help :)

Sooo good for a first digital painting! Turned out so pretty x3 u got a new fan!

Aw, Thank you soooo much! I really appreciate your support! :)

Very good process and art piece!
Upvoted and following for more now :)

Thank you for your support @allengraves. :)

you're very welcome! keep up the good work! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57