Thorn bush - oil painting including story

in #art6 years ago

Thorn bush, oil and egg tempera on canvas, 30 x 30 cm, 2009
In last 2 days I posted and resteemit faces, so here is another one of my older painting.

Vesna Krasnec - Dornenbusch.jpg

The storry behind this painting: Klagenfurt, 2008 – i was assistant to Prof. Erst Fuchs (most important mentor for my artist being in my life), where he painted Apocalypse in St. Egid Chapel for more than 20 years long. Many Artist came over so many years to paint there.

On one wall somebody was started to paint thorny bush, and my Master told me to paint this. „Make me thorns, so sharp like a knife!“ After 2 days of work I started to see thorns everywhere, no matter where i was looking, I asked him : “and, what do you think?“ - „This is soft like a butter! I said sharp like a knife!“

So i was still painting after everyone gone and totally lost feeling for time (like always, haha).
After some hours, I realize suddenly that i’m alone. In a chapel. I could see thru small window of connection door into the dark Church. And it was one moment i felt „something“ is here. So creepy! Fear come over me and I turn off the lights and run out, running till my room in rectory. It was after 3 in the night. I could not sleep, everywhere was only thorny bush… so i made this little drawing (13 x 18 cm).

dornen zeichn.klein.jpg

Again at home, I started an oil painting.
Vesna Krasnec - Dornenbusch.jpg

This is the chapel inside and the church. Photo from Master Fuchs made by myself.
Kapelle.jpg

I guess he made some joke here! :) You can see thorns on the bottom of this wall.
40842_105649052826956_7319158_n.jpg

With Prof. Ernst Fuchs. I can not believe, it's already 10 years ago!
Scan_Foto_Vesna2 Kopie.jpg

Thank you for your time,
love,
Vesna

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this experience :)
Interesting and inspiring :)
The professor seems to be a really charismatic man on this last photo.

Thanks dude! :-) That's funny because the name Ernst means serious. Yes, he was very charismatic! But this expression here fits much more to him. That's what he usually looked like. On the right is Viktor Safonkin, great artist, he was a student of Ernst Fuchs and came to visit from Russia. By the way, what's your name? :)

174 (2).JPG

Ah ! That's some happyness in eyes we can see here ! :)
That must have been be fulfilling to share work on that kind of projects :)

(and to answer your question : my real name is Pascal Garrigues, but I use 'Berien' as a nick for art related activities :) )

Hello Pascal! :) Berien is also nice, sounds like someone who come from bear! :)

haha .. what a story! I also know the creepy feeling that there is "something". It crawls up and down your back and makes one's hair stand on end.
But in the end it paid off, the unpleasant experience turned into a wonderful painting!

Hey Sigrid! Danke! :-) did you painted there too? Amanda Sage said, she also felt some presence there!

No, I haven´t been in that chapel yet. But I felt presences at various places and sometimes also at home (which immediately causes me to smoke the house with sage .. haha).

:-) I'm happy I don't feel it at home!

Wow, its a very nice painting looks so lively

Great Memories! Love the story - maybe it makes even more sense to me since I know you both very well. (and was saddened about his passing).
I am familiar with this painting of yours, but now it is even more interesting knowing the background story!
Hugs
Otto

Thanks Otti! Hugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45