Attending the Ai Weiwei exhibition in Athens, Greece

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

In this post I would like to share with you some pictures from the Ai Weiwei exhibition that I attended on the 29th of October 2016 in Athens, Greece.

Ai Weiwei is a Chinese Contemporary artist and political activist. He was born on the 28th of August 1957 in Beijing, China. In 1978, he enrolled in the Beijing Film Academy and studied animation. He then moved to the USA, where he lived from 1981 to 1993. He studied English at the University of Pennsylvania and Berkeley, and attended the Art Students League of New York.

While in NY he would carry a camera with him all the time, and take loads of pictures (like me), which is now a collection named New York Photographs. He also became fascinated by blackjack card games (like me), and is still regarded as a top tier professional blackjack player (lucky him).

In 1993, he returned to China, where he has been involved in numerous projects and activities, like for example working as artistic consultant on the Beijing National Stadium for the 2008 Olympics (1).

His exhibition took place in the Museum of Cycladic Art, and I have to say I particularly liked his chandelier below.

Ai Weiwei exhibition at the Cycladic Museum of Art, Athens

I will also share with you some interesting images of his work that I found on the internet:

Image from d2jv9003bew7ag.cloudfront.net

Image from www.widewalls.ch

Image from d2jv9003bew7ag.cloudfront.net

Image from theredlist.com/media/database

Image from s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next post.

Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ai_Weiwei.

Sort:  

glad u liked it tech-trail!

You are welcome mate!

oh lovely! glad you shared this! I have some Venice exhibitions and will be posting of bienale soon so come and check :) hope to see more of this soon as I followed you!

thank you! will follow you too. i am curious about the bienale. all the best!

it was amazing! perhaps you could find something to amuse you, will start to post about bienale tomorrow, having too much images hihi. Glad to found you! I always love to share my art interests :)

looking forward to your pics when you post them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97