How to draw an eye with pen

in #art7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3388.jpg
So I by no means am the worlds best artist or claim to be but I do enjoy art! One of the things I love about art is the challenge and the feeling of completing a challenge. There is a feeling of success after you complete a body of art rather it be a song, painting, dance, drawing whatever that releases natural endorphins that cant be matched by any synthetic drug the only thing that cant match that feeling is love but thats another subject so lets stick to art! Many time my art doesnt come out like I intended but thats okay because the best work that an artist can ever put out is when they least expect it. For this example I used a bic crystal ball point pen and a 5.5 x8.5 inch sketch book.

IMG_3360.jpg
STEP 1
I begin with a horizontal reference line just to help keep things straight. I then begin to draw just the basic contours of the eye. Just a few well placed strokes is all you need.
IMG_3363.jpg

STEP 2
I begin to darken the line that give the eye shape from step 1. I begin to smooth out the angular guidelines from earlier and add some darks.

IMG_3370.jpg
STEP 3
Here is where the drawing starts to take life. I add the iris and begin adding some shading. I like to start with the dark tones. To do this start light and build up to dark. Remember to take your time because unlike pencil you CANNOT EARSE!

IMG_3388.jpg
STEP 4
In the final stages continue to build on your tones to add shading. Place a cast shadow over the eye bye the upper lid. And the most important step is to make it YOURS. Make it unique make it your style and if you don't have a style or are still developing a style look at art you like and think of why you like is and put your spin on it.

Thanks for viewing any questions just ask in the comments section!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51