You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How is this still a debate?

in #art6 years ago

Hi @fullmetalneedle. I am happy that you are using your art to explore issues that are meaningful to you! I agree with you that some women wear hijabs by choice, but I am concerned when you write that you don't feel like a feminist.

Here is the definition of feminism from Wikipedia:

Feminism is a range of political movements, ideologies, and social movements that share a common goal: to define, establish, and achieve political, economic, personal, and social equality of sexes. This includes seeking to establish educational and professional opportunities for women that are equal to those for men.

When you write 'I don't feel like a have the same rights as men have in my country', do you mean that you don't think women in your country should have equal rights to the men?

Sort:  

Im curious if you do have moments in your life where you feel like you are treated different because of your gender?

Yes. Absolutely. Sometimes it is nice - doors opened for me or help lifting heavy things. Sometimes it is not nice - my opinion dismissed more readily or being viewed as overly opinionated if I assert myself. And lots more - too much to go into here. More as I get older as well.

I think the key to feminism is that it is about equal opportunity for both sexes. I consider myself a feminist because I believe that both or all genders should experience equal opportunity and be judged on their merits as individuals. It sounds simple but is difficult to achieve. I am a product of my generation as well and I know there are times when I unwittingly judge myself or others through my own sexist behaviour.

I appreciate the opportunity to have this exchange with you! It is conversations like this that will hopefully lead to equal opportunities for all humans. Thanks!

My spelling is horrible without autocorrrect. I should really do this on my laptop. Im not a native english speaker. I mean that i feel like we do have the same rights. I never felt like i did not have the same rights as a man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43