100 Days of Art has Begun! (I'm actually good at this?!)

in #art7 years ago

Hello my dearest readers! So I had made a small mention to this 'event' back in my Inktober article, but it's finally here!

100 Days of Art has begun officially yesterday!

Now, I'm probably confusing you all. "What is this event?" you are probably wondering. "It's nothing I have ever heard of." Well, of course not, because I haven't told you about it yet!

I talked about GaiaOnline quite a bit in my last article, so by now you all know what that is. I will mention briefly here that the contest entry I entered resulted in nothing, so I really got myself sick for no reason, however I did enter the other contest I mentioned and got honorable mention! I'll be featuring that art in this article.

IMG_20180104_0001 resized.png
Pandi Sketch WIP
https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com/art/Pandi-Sketch-WIP-723855816

So back to the topic at hand. The '100 days of Art' event is a user run event on the GaiaOnline site, and it's basically a 100 day art challenge. They provide several different themes each day, and the idea is to pick one or more themes and draw something! You have to spend at least 15-30mins on the art, and you have to post it to the site by 11:59pm EST each day. Now, those are the 'challenge' rules, however they do accept casual artists that can be more lax about deadlines and such.

pandi lineart resized.png
Pandi Lineart
https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com/art/Pandi-Lineart-724051148

Considering I met not just one, but two, deadlines recently, I am confident in my ability to get most of the 100 days done, if not all of them! So far I haven't missed the first 2 days, and I'm already sketching out my idea for my third day. I have also broken down the 100 days into a timeline consisting of 14 weeks and 2 days, with each week having a different 'personal focus'.

pandi final resized.png
Pandi Final
https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com/art/Pandi-Final-724051723

The first day and the last day I plan on drawing the same exact picture, kinda giving myself a mile marker to track my progress. As I said, the event started yesterday (January 8th) and while I did draw the picture, I didn't quite finish turning it digital.

Day 1 Sketch resize.png
Day 1: 'Night' Sketch
https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com/art/Day-1-Night-Sketch-724571135

My plan for the first day was to draw my own avatar, however I wasn't sure I would be able to, considering the themes for the first day weren't revealed until the day of, and I had made plans for what I would draw several days in advanced. Very luckily for me, one of the themes was 'Night' and my avatar was in pajamas with a night background, so it fit perfectly with the theme! I whipped up a sketch, making sure to include the background to fully fit the theme, and submitted the sketch before starting the digitalization process.

Now, keep in mind that not only am I still sick, but my husband had off that day after a weekend of work. So while I did dedicate quite a bit of time to my art, it wasn't nearly enough to finish a digital piece of that detail. That plus I'm fairly slow with digital since my tablet is older and I have been drawing mostly traditional for most of my life.

It was until this piece that I still considered 'digital' as a weakness of mine.

Day 1 digital wip resize.png
Day 1: 'Night' Digital WIP
https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com/art/Day-1-Night-Digital-WIP-724624835

Holy dear geez was I so very very wrong. I got to about 11:50pm last night when I stopped drawing, slapped a 'wip' on top of the image, and uploaded it to Deviantart slightly defeated. But then I proceeded to switch back and forth on my DA between the sketch and the WIP and I was shocked.

You probably can't tell in this smaller image, and will have to most like go to the actual DA page for the WIP, but the lineart for the character is MILES AHEAD of the initial sketch. The hair, the face, the tail, the wrinkles in the kigu (pajamas) are all so well done I was floored. I did that? I actually did that myself?? Me, who can't do digital art?

But it's true. I did that, and there's still work left. I am so excited for the final product I can't even say. You know, minus the fact that I'm not good at digital shading. But, hey, maybe I'll surprise myself there too.

Because this is only the first few days, each week I'll be posting whatever art I do for this event as long as I'm still doing it, so stay tuned! Thank you all for reading this, and I hope you enjoyed the art and my insight.

If you're interested in my art, check out my Deviantart where I post all my work https://kittehfaye.deviantart.com

I will also be regularly streaming art on my new Picarto Channel https://picarto.tv/KittehDoesArt

I'll post on Twitter when I am streaming https://twitter.com/KittehFaye

And my streamed content will be turned into speedpaints for my Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCy7bBA_VcjFeVYi-I92snAQ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62