Flowers - East Moline Era

in #art8 years ago

My first set of high resolution flower photos from my E-Mo Era of Flower Photography. In other words, these are old photos from our old home that my wife and I lived in for 12 years.

My grandmother, Molly, was a florist by trade for as long as I could remember. I spent a lot of time with her in the shops and especially the green houses outside Chicago. I remember this green house that was so big, my cousin and I could get lost in it for hours. Perhaps that is where I get it from.

Fire and Ice Dahlia

Brilliant red and white colors, huge in size, so much fun to grow. These came back every year strong until... Beware, squirrels seem to enjoy eating the bulbs!
Fire and Ice Dahlia
Download Original Hi-Res Version

Geranium Close Up

Geraniums produce very tiny little flowers that resemble roses if you get really close with a nice camera. This entire set of buds was about the size of a nickel. These were not my favorite to grow. They complained a lot and died early in the season.
Geranium Close Up
Download Original Hi-Res Version

Moon Flower

We grew huge numbers of Moon Flowers. Be careful, they can really take over an area as it is a vine that loves to climb. Most flowers perk up in the sun and droop at night, but not the Moon Flower. It closes up during the day tightly and only opens as the sun starts to fall making photography really tricky and fun. This required a tripod and it was a 6 second long exposure which was required otherwise there was just not enough light to see.
Moon Flower
Download Original Hi-Res Version

Star Gazer Lily

A highly exotic, impressive, fun, and easy bulb to grow into huge flowers. Be careful with these, give them some space from where you sit and hang out. They smell good but it can be a bit strong when they really start to produce. They are huge in size so you will see them from a distance just fine.
Star Gazer Lily
Download Original Hi-Res Version

Sunset Assortment

This was one of our favorite wall papers for years, looks like some daisies and other assorted flowers.
Sunset Assortment
Download Original Hi-Res Version

All images Copyright KidSysco 2016. Use however you wish for personal reasons. For commercial use, give me a shout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43