i-Talent Title "Charcoal Drawing - Catwoman(1992)"

in #art6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time participating in the I-Talent Contest hosted by @ivan.atman and i want to use this illustration as my entry to show my talent.

Today i want to show you a new Illustration. This is Catwoman (Selina Kyle) from the year 1992 played by "Michelle Pfeiffer" in the movie Batman Returns.

IMG_20180815_220454_180.jpg

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

cores.png

Many know me and know well how fanatic of batman i am, a long time ago i wanted to draw Catwoman, is a villain and impossible love of Batman.

in this freak space i will talk a little about Catwoman:

  • Her name is Selina Kyle.
  • She is a costume expert and jewelry thief.
  • Generally there is a strong attraction between her and Batman, which, with the passage of time, has become a complicated, deep and impossible love.
  • This version of Selina is taken from the movie Batman Returns by Tim Burton in the year 1992.


Image Source


Lest Draw!

My Tools:

  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • HB Leads.
  • Charcoal Pencil Medium.
  • Brush
  • Moldable Eraser.
  • Charcoal Powder.
  • A4 Opaline 300G.

Splash.png

The Process:

  • Always in this type of illustrations i start by drawing the face, if i illustrate it in the end it may be that i get it wrong causing me to repeat the whole process and lose the hours i tried.

  • I started by illustrating his eyes with the HB pencil and drawing the shadows that the mask causes, to give relief.


  • I made their lips mixing the graphite with a little charcoal to give a darker tone, and with the moldable eraser i made the lights.

  • Then, with the charcoal pencil i made the mask, it has a latex texture so you have to play a lot with the lights to give this effect.


  • The version of this suit, has small white strings that join the separations of the suit, giving the effect of being chopped into several pieces, this is annoying because when making the effect of the texture of the suit these small attachments intervene, we must have patience to do it very well.

  • finally finished the mask i began to illustrate part of the body, using the same techniques, playing with light.


  • The suit has only 3 shades to use, Black, gray and white, but you have to know that in this type of texture the lights are not direct, so you have to degrade from black to white.

  • I used the Charcoal powder to have a uniform black tone and be able to degrade more easily, helping me on the edges with the charcoal pencil.


  • With the charcoal pencil highlights some details of the suit, especially the ties.

  • With the moldable eraser i made the necessary lights in the suit and with the brush soften the edges for a better gradient.


Some last adjustments, i cleaned the work area a bit and this was the final Art!

IMG_20180815_220421_392.jpg

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

What i like about this type of artwork is being able to use the right tones to make the corresponding textures, this kind of thing is a challenge for me!.

I always enjoy drawing super heroes, they are my favorites, i hope you have also enjoyed this illustration.

I want to thank you for all your support and to @ivan.atman for holding this contest!!

Thank you and until the next time!

Steemit.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://kennyvaldez.vornix.blog/2018/08/16/i-talent-title-charcoal-drawing-catwoman1992/

Sort:  

I like the details on the mask and costume:) Very realistic!
Excellent drawing!

bellaaaaa!!!

Bro!!! Gracias!

Posted using Partiko Android

wow, excelente!!!

Gracias amigo!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You nailed it. Spot on to the reference photo. I can see it was difficult to differentiate between the light reflection and the floor reflection (but that's charcoal for you).

On a personal note, I've never used charcoal powder before. Always blended. :-/

Anyway, hope you do well in the contest. This should be high on the list.

Hey yes! The charcoal powder, and graphite powder always help me to do a best work. Thanks for you cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed the process. Beautiful! ^__^

Glad that you like this! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my gosh @kennyvaldez, you never cease to amaze me!!! This is awesome!! I love Catwoman, so this one is really special in my books :)

I am blown away that you did this with charcoal ! you really nailed it!

excelente dibujo, muy bien realizado, que bien mi amigo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86