My Old Works: A Glimpse of the Past

in #art7 years ago

Memories are not the key to the past, but to the future. -Coorie Ten Boom


Thats what I have learned from art school when I'm still at my freshmen years

I have learned that looking back through all my old works would let me grow more as an artist. I struggled a lot finding what my art works should be and what it should represent. Thingking too much about it sometimes leads me to procrastination. Makes me think that I am just nothing as an artist and would never improve.


The turning point


When i was still freshmen at art school I joined contests and trust me not I have never ever won any of the contests I have joined. Here's my entry for National Shell Art Competition. My entry is a sculpture entitled "Lawig" and got into the level of being a finalist. At that very moment I was so happy knowing I've a finalist.
Then on I strayed myself away from contests and focused on learning the fundamentals of art. I became a booking person and created works that has deeper meanings. here are two of them: and

Looking back to these works really reminds me how I struggled with the process of making it and its concept.


There are also works that I have made because the school required students to do so. Through this I have sharpened my eyes towards making details as well as proper application of the medium given.

Still life is quite common to art schools and it is one of the common things that students could learn a lot from.

A still life (plural: still lifes) is a work of art depicting mostly inanimate subject matter, typically commonplace objects are either natural (food, flowers, dead animals, plants, rocks, shells, etc.) Still Life is the best subject in art for learning and teaching the skills of drawing and painting. It teaches us how to look at objects and see them like an artist.
source



These are the basic things I have learned from the past and it molded me into something better. I may not won anything from art making contest but it made me change how I look at art and life itself. I always acknowledge the past for it fuels my desire to become a better and effective artist. As of this very moment I still do practice any form art. This way could understand as to why such art exist.
Thats all for today 😊 comment you thoughts about art, I'd be happy to read them and lets exchange ideas as well.
Draw Share Inspire
Sort:  

ang ganda nong sculpture mo sir eh.,

Habla, blah blah blah blah blah, Español for my bunghole...

hahaha you’re funny as always. thanks for the upvote.

haha thanks @g10a. hahaha such clever person @cornholio

So look beautifull art and nice work

Thanks im glad you liked it :)

I especially like the sculptures and pencil works, great usage of surface and light!

thank you so much and im happy you like my works. these works was made way back 5yrs ago

Wow youre very creative

thanks 😊

upvoted HAHA
ang boots ni sir rey xD
gamit kaayo sa model box
nice! youve got more wips than that naman :D ipost mo yung sa BFAR :D

hahaha will post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52